We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Encore hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Music City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Music City Hotel
Ranked #126 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Encore hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great location, good budget choice. Carlos at the front desk was very nice. There is a music practice room in the basement that can be loud, but was always quiet at night and didn't interfere with getting a good night's sleep. Room was nicely decorated and adequate in size. Enjoyed walking to Polk Gulch for some great food (crepes, Indian food, etc). Would definitely stay here again when visiting SF.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    127
    94
    40
    27
See reviews for
25
97
121
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I've never written a review on any site before, actually. However, what I've experienced at Encore Express is ridiculous enough, I feel compelled to post....

Yes, the price here is great, and they do have wifi. But there's one thing you should know before booking a room here: the hotel blocks porn sites. I repeat: this hotel, right here in San Francisco--this hotel, which in fact flanks one the diviest neighborhoods in the city--blocks porn. Not that anyone comes to SF to sit in a hotel and screw around online. But over the years I've found myself online at various hotels late at night, and have never, ever experienced anything close to this--even in very, very conservative, bible-belt places. (Encore Express also blocks many other sites that aren't porn at all...like, say, answers[dot]yahoo[dot]com, or even photobucket).

To be more precise, as far as porn goes, Encore Express blocks anything their "network administrator" has tagged as containing "adult themes" or "pornography" or even "lingerie/bikini." (Btw, their "network administrator" is opendns[dot]com--what parents use to filter content for kids.)

So, if you do decide to book a room here, keep in mind that sites that involve nude consenting adults (like youporn, for example, the kind of site you'd otherwise expect to be illegal in, say....Iran), you won't be able to look at here--which is freaking ridiculous, considering I'm an adult who lives in the U.S.

If you do decide to stay here... aside from porn being blocked, consider yourself forewarned: there will be plenty of non-porn sites, of the kind you probably routinely visit, that are blocked here as well--like, as I mentioned, answers[dot]yahoo[dot]com -- which is blocked because it's been tagged as "Research/Reference, Forums/Message boards." And photobucket has been blocked as a result of being tagged as "Video sharing, Visual search engines, Photo sharing." And who knows what else has been blocked.

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
13 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

buenos aires argentina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

I stayed at the Encore Express for 4 nights. I chose this hotel for the price and as a former San Franciscan for the location. The room was of a good size, very clean and had a refrig and sink, as well as a closet and bureau. There is a microwave next to the office. It was nice to be able to unpack and not have to live out of a suitcase. The wifi connection was perfect and the room was very quiet. The staircase from trhe front door to the first floor might be a problem for some.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank XchocolateX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

When we pulled up to the hotel late aroune 10 PM (after calling ahead to confirm a late check-in would be possible), we buzzed the number posted on the door--multiple times--with no response. We tried calling the hotel's phone number, which routed us through the same intercom system. Hearing the thumping bass from the rehearsal space situated below the hotel, we were ready to leave, despite having pre-authorized the room charge. Another guest approached the door and after explaining the situation, she let us in. We found the desk clerk was indeed there, but she hadn't heard the buzzer or seen us on the security camera because she was busy with other guests. This was rather troubling as we would have had to find another place to stay late at night if not for the other guest entering. But the clerk apologized, and after we confirmed that the band rehearsals stopped at 11 PM and checking out our room, we decided to stay.

Room: It was actually much nicer than I expected, and I was satisfied with the cleanliness. There was a bit of a musty smell, but I suppose that's to be expected with older buildings. You get the sense some thought has been given to decor and amenities (mini-fridge, microwave, water cooler in the hallway). Sure, the TV was broken and we could only hear the audio, but we weren't in San Fran to watch TV.

Bathrooms: Not the most pleasant, but if you've stayed in hostels, nothing out of the ordinary (save for the thong underwear a fellow guest had left hanging on the towel rack--ew!). There wasn't much space to put your stuff down in the shower rooms, but the showers were hot with good water pressure.

Location: The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants, bars, the downtown core, and public transportation. The hotel does not have parking and lots in the area cost at least $20/day. It was impossible to find free street parking at night so we used the lots.

Noise: I was initially concerned about the music rehearsal space downstairs, as the bass guitar reverberated through our walls, but the noise stopped each night at 11 or shortly thereafter. If you sleep earlier, this isn't the place for you. There was also a lot of street noise and we could hear the phone ringing in the front office in the early morning. Earplugs are a must.

Staff: We decided to extend our stay by a night because we were having such a great time in San Fran and they made this very easy for us. The manager was very friendly and actually gave us a tour of the music rehearsal spaces after my musician boyfriend expressed curiosity. Also, I accidentally left my cell phone behind and they kindly mailed it to me at no cost.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel and felt it provided good value for the money, especially since we were having difficulty finding budget accommodations in San Fran on short notice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank msdalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

I found the place to be very antisocial, offering no form of common area so those staying were often sitting together out the front as there was nowhere else to go once those you were sharing a room with have gone to bed. The rooms were clean but small and cramped with limited toilet and shower facilities for most dorms. The noise pollution was loud as the hostel is based above a rehersal studio which doesn't close until late in the evening. Overall these are only a few issues which I would normally overlook but the appalling rudeness of a particular staff member truly ruined the visit for us, entering our room at 1am, making alot of noise and behaving innappropriately and extremely loudly in our dorm room until gone 4am, truly UNACCEPTABLE behaviour. Overall I would highly recommend staying anywhere other than here!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie-marie176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#175 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dakota Hotel
#186 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Layne Hotel
#201 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music City Hotel

Property: Music City Hotel
Address: 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,040 - ₹ 9,687
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Music City Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Encore Express Hotel is centrally located near Van Ness Avenue and Union Square shopping districts, with many excellent food options as well as bars and nightlife located on adjacent Polk Stret. The Encore Express features 18 guest rooms with a mix of shared bath and private bath rooms as well as shared room dormitory accommodations. Private room options feature either 1 Double size or 1 Queen size bed, with deluxe options of Junior Suite (two queen beds) or King suite with private bathroom. Vanity sinks, work station, mini-fridge and a cable TV are included as room amenities in all room types aside from the dormitories. Shared showers and restrooms are found in four convenient locations per floor, just down the hall from the bedrooms. Looking for the best value and on a limited budget? Our clean, well maintained rooms are the most reasonable in the San Francisco Union Square/Nob Hill District and our friendly, helpful staff is happy to assist you with directions and recommendations for activities within San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Music City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Express San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing