We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we expected and more”
Review of Union Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Union Street Inn
Ranked #5 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Was made to feel immediatly welcome in this beautiful setting, so glad we decided to stay here instead of a hotel. Had a fantastic week in san fran and in large part due to the inn. Jane was so lovely and the cooking was excellent. We want to go back already and will defiantly stay here again. To anybody looking for a romantic couples getaway, this is the perfect spot, you will love it.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    70
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
68
348
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

The Union Street Inn is such a nice alternative to staying in stuffy hotels. We felt welcome as soon as we stepped through the door and were made to feel right at home. Each day started with lovingly prepared, freshly cooked breakfasts and in the evenings there was wine and cheese. With buses outside the door it is easy to get to around and there are good restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We will certainly be back next time we go to San Francisco.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had a lovely 4 day stay here. David, Jane and Kit really looked after us. Homely place and not far from the CBD. Deliciously cooked breakfasts, wine and cheese in the evening.....thank you so much to you all for making our stay in San Francisco so welcoming and relaxing! A truly wonderful B&B.......

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robalmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulhouse, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Perfectly located with several bus lines getting you everywhere you'd want to, this is still San Francisco's true little gem.
For our third stay we had four nights in the English Garden.
This room is absolutely beautiful with its own private deck allowing for an evening tea with Jane's always fresh cookies.
The breakfast is perfect and could easily feed us for almost the whole day.
The unions street / cow hollow district has plenty of shops and wonderful restaurants.
Do not miss Naked Fish in Chestnut if you like sushi, it's the best in town !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chl3mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Carlisle, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

When I book a room I am always worried that I will be disappointed. It was not the case this time! Everything about this B&B was perfect. From the moment I arrived I felt right at home. My room, the English Garden Room, was lovely. Breakfast was over the top every morning. When I asked for blueberry pancakes, Jane made sure that they would be on the menu one morning for me! Jane and Henry went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed at all times. We had several activity filled days so it was so nice to have a warm, relaxing place to unwind every night. It is a very quiet, comfortable, and relaxing place to stay. I can't wait to return again!

Room Tip: The English Garden room is very quiet with it's own private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferS781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Property: Union Street Inn
Address: 2229 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,156 - ₹ 21,267
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Warm Hospitality at San Francisco's Union Street Inn. The Union Street Inn Bed and Breakfast combines the elegance and gentility of an Edwardian home. Rooms are spacious, airy and comfortable. Open your window and the fragrance of old roses, lavender, sage and rosemary wafts up from the romantic cottage garden - a delightful spot to enjoy an inviting breakfast or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing