We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maintaining High Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #8 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Maintaining High Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Have stayed here a number of times over a 15 year period and it remains a very solid, enjoyable choice for downtown San Francisco. For the record, this is more of a small hotel than an inn and you can mingle with other guests as much or as little as you like. As other reviewers note, the rooms are big and nicely decorated (OK, the bathrooms are small) and the ample breakfasts and afternoon receptions add excellent value and enjoyment to your stay. We were particularly impressed with one of the staff this time (Andy) who took the time to give us of tips about where to self park, city transportation and what activities were going on in the city that weekend. If you are a walker, this hotel is really well located for easy walks to Chinatown, North Beach, Union Square and Nob Hill. We really like this place!

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive avoid the rooms facing Bush street (lots of city sounds). We did stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeawoodCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    469
    105
    32
    12
See reviews for
300
934
75
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
regina, canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed there for two nights of a 6 day trip to SF in June. We booked kind of late, so we didn't get a great room - ours was located at the very front of the hotel (room 31) so it was pretty noisy (traffic, people yelling) until late at night. In the centre of a big city that's to be expected, but try to get a room towards the back if you can. The breakfasts both mornings were great, and the wine and snacks in the evening were very tasty. The bathroom was very small, but we live in a house that's even older than this hotel so it didn't shock us. The staff provided a list of recommended nearby restaurants - the list was a little heavy on restaurants in Belden Place. We tried a couple of them during our 6 days in SF - they were ok, but do yourself a favour and try Nob Hill Cafe on Taylor Street for some great Italian food. It's not on their list, and it's 3 uphill blocks to reach it from the hotel, but definitely the best restaurant that we ate at during our stay. Overall, White Swan Inn lived up to its reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back of the hotel to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livetotravelcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs NY
Level Contributor
218 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

San Francisco, despite the hills, is a very walkable city and the White Swan is as centrally located as you can get, making those walks even shorter. Chinatown, Union Square and other sites are very close.

The hotel is charming without being cloyingly B+B, if you know what I mean. Not too frilly, with books instead of knick knacks on the fireplace mantle. No air conditioning, but not needed in SFO. Our King Deluexe room had two areas for a couple to prepare for the day, with separate sinks, etc. Very quiet room at the back of the hotel. Staff, especially the bell boy/concierge Andy are wonderful and ready to help in any way possible.

Breakfast was much better than the usual hotel continental effort, with a different choice of hot items every day. The evening wine/cheese get together was disappointing in that it was not always stocked well, running out of wine and/or cheese on two occasions.

Overall, a great hotel.

Room Tip: We had a King Deluxe (#27) on the first floor at the back, a perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

The White Swan is a very nice B&B. The staff are courteous, if a little reserved. The decor of the place is very English and very tastefully done. The rooms are a good size. The bathrooms are well equipped, if a little bland.

The B&B is in a good location with most things reachable on foot - or cable car if you can't stomach the hills!

We've been to San Francisco twice and stayed here twice - that's probably the best insight into what we thought of the place.

You won't go hungry - there is a buffet breakfast that is a mix of hot food (usually something egg based, either sausages or bacon and potatoes if I remember correctly) and cold food (muffins, pastries). There are also cereals and bread/toast.

On our most recent visit they were a little slow to refill the buffet during the busy periods, but this was a minor gripe.

Room Tip: San Francisco is a noisy city - you might want to ask whether some rooms are quieter than others wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I would easily give this a five star if only they would upgrade some furniture. The location is terrific, our room was so charming I was ready to move in! We had room 26 which was in the back of the hotel and very, very quiet. It was a large room with a beautiful gas fireplace (with a convenient switch at bedside!) The breakfasts are wonderful. We stayed here 3 nights, giving you a substantial discount) and every morning the hot buffet-style breakfasts were varied with an egg dish every morning and a different serving of meat (suasage, bacon). They also provide a complete array of pastries, croissants, oatmeal, etc. They do not skimp. They also have homemade cookies AND wonderful appetizers and good wine in the evening. Hot coffee and tea all day long. The public area for breakfast and evening appetizers/wine are wonderful with fireplaces, den-like atmosphere. BUT, again, the furniture is old and seats broken down. The small sofa our bedroom was a sleeper couch and very uncomfortable to sit on. The bathrooms are small but adequate. Very friendly staff.
A very minor point: one morning it was raining so we decided to use their fitness equipment consisting of a bicycle and treadmill. I think the treadmill was the first one made and you could not hear yourself over its noise which was okay since the TV wasn't working either. But in San Fran, you really don't need a fitness room!
One block away on Powell St. is a very good, very busy Italian restaurant called Uncle Vito's Good pizza and pasta with a very brisk take-out service. It's obvious that the locals love it. Don't expect atmosphere, just great food at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street are VERY quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,419 - ₹ 26,984
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing