We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Victorian”
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queen Anne Hotel
Ranked #79 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have stayed here several times as the hotel is conveniently located, has reasonable parking--a real plus in SF, and the rooms are quite large. It is good value considering how expensive so many hotels in SF are and the staff is very nice. We went to a restaurant recommended by the concierge and were very happy with it. There is a continental breakfast that isn't great but is adequate and certainly saves time and money not having to look for something. There is tea and coffee always available and cookies and sherry in the afternoon so that is a nice touch. There was a mini refrigerator in our room so nice for keeping a bottle of wine cold. We will stay here again because it is good value for what you get.

Room Tip: We had a street side room with a nice bay window which was very pleasant. The streets here are not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 342 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

First the good. Location was good and the continental breakfast was a nice touch however upon arriving we found no one who offered to help us with our bags. During check-in the front desk clerk spoke to me in a very degrading and disrespectful manor when telling me where the parking lot was. The tone was so bad that I was forced to call her on her disrespectful tone in front of other guests. Upon arriving at the room there was a very old musty smell. Hot water took a very long time. We found a lack of towels, and toiletries. The room was very poorly decorated with old scratched furniture. Room was very small and the bathroom tub had mold.There was very little room for our toiletries. The night stand was missing drawers. There were no outlets to use unless I unplugged the refrigerator or light for our computer and cell phones. No extra blankets for warmth. The heater blasted very hot air so you were either cold or hot. The hair dryer kept shorting out, I called for a replacement when the maintenance man came to the door with a different one he barged into the room stating he needed to check the old one while my wife was standing in her robe. I told him it wasn't necessary for him to check it and to just give us a new hair dryer. He handed it to me and then a few minutes later the maid knocked and said the maintenance man gave us a broken one and handed me a brand new one. After being out until 10:00 PM there was no parking space for us so we had to go back in the lobby to let them know and they had to give us a special spot to park in. We would not go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mjolson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Sure, you can nitpick, but i'd rather stay here than in some antiseptic, cookie cutter hotel. The Sherry and cookies in the late afternoon was a nice touch. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My fiance and I spent a week here. The room was amazing, the staff was so terribly friendly, and the service was top notch. They went the extra mile for us every day, and any time we asked for anything, they rushed to get it for us.

I've never stayed at a hotel with a concierge before, and when we were downstairs in the lobby looking for a cab to the airport on the last night, I decided I would never stay at a hotel without one again. They went above and beyond in every respect.

Next time we head to San Francisco, we will be back at the Queen Anne!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeverlyCStPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This cute Victorian Hotel is very nice, clean and the service is the best thing. All the guys at the counter where very nice and always helpfull. The breakfast has plenty of things to choose from, eventhough if you stay many days it will always be the same.

Room Tip: The elevator is old and noisy so ask for rooms that are not nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielaRotger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Kimpton Buchanan
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
538 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Vertigo
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Address: 1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5395
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 10,537 - ₹ 25,301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remarkable Victorian boutique hotel with 48 elegant rooms and suites. Constructed in the building boom following the California Gold Rush, these unique accommodations offer you modern amenities as they transport you to another era of quiet luxury and wild romance. Convenient located in the premier Pacific Heights district, known for stately Victorian mansions, wonderful restaurants, and the best in shopping (Fillmore, Sacramento, Union, Chestnut Streets). Easy stroll to Union Square and Cable Car Network. Your stay at the Queen Anne includes our table leg threatening continental breakfast, wifi, morning newspaper, afternoon tea & sherry. On weekday mornings, enjoy our local towncar delivery service. We invite you to discover the fabulous Queen Anne and hope to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Anne San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing