We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodations and host at the Castro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #2 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
1 review
“Great accommodations and host at the Castro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Three of us stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments-from beginning to end, the hotel was very accommodating, from payment to providing information on attractions, restaurants, travel tips, even parking! Very reasonable rates. Highly recommend if you want neighborhood flavor rather than the touristy experience if Union Square (where we walked out of to restaurants) or Fisherman's Wharf.

Room Tip: Review website for single or group travel options
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    116
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
77
314
129
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This well appointed and clean apartment is the main floor of a 2 story home. We have stayed in this unit on 3 separate occasions and have always been very pleased. There are two bedrooms each with a queen size bed, a recently renovated bathroom, living room, large kitchen, dining area and outside patio. The property is located on Caselli Street and is very quiet with other like homes. All of this is a 5 minute walk to everything the Castro has to offer. Also within walking is the street car on Market Street and a MUNI Station. I cannot recommend Jan's place any higher for cleanliness, convenience and fun this is the place to stay in the Castro.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Everything in the Castro is walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nelson w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights with Jan in April. This is a proper bed and breakfast experience - it is not a hotel. Breakfasts are communal, and delicious - every day we had a different baked item on the table along with cereals, fruit salad, fresh juice and great coffee, and a choice of two different made-to-order hot items (scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, pecan pancakes and strawberries, poached eggs on wilted chard with walnut toast etc.). You really feel like a guest in Jan's house, and meeting the other guests over breakfast is all part of the fun. Obviously, this is a gay-run B&B, and many guests (but not all) are gay, making it a diverse and interesting place to stay.

The location is great - 1 minute from tube and tram, and right in the heart of the Castro, with many great restaurants and lively gay bars. Jan provides a very useful listing of some of the best restaurants in the area - all the ones we tried were very good indeed.

Our room was the Hideaway Suite in the basement. If you want a lovely quiet retreat, with a separate entrance from the main house, this is just perfect. As a basement room, it does not have any natural light in the bedroom - but we were sleeping there, not sunbathing - we found it snug, and slept very well. Free sodas in the fridge and quality coffee/tea in the room were nice touches.

Would we go back - yes - we loved the city, had great fun in the Castro, and found that this was the perfect relaxing place to finish our American road trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dksmith_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

i've stayed at the inn on castro as a solo traveller and this year i was on a business trip with my team and we all stayed with jan, some in the main house and some in one of the apartments. both times it was great! it's perfectly located and suited for you if you're not a big fan of anonymous business hotels in the financial district or don't feel like staying at one the overstuffy 'historical' places. it's affordable, comfortable, friendly, uncomplicated, jan is a wonderful and helpful host and does make the best breakfasts ever. totally recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippy163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Inn on Castro offers 2 styles of accommodation, hotel and apartment. We wanted apartment on Castro as we were staying for a week. We picked Inn/hotel was on a lovely spot on Castro st, we did not realize the apartment was a walk up the hill to Caselli street. The apartment was in lovely quiet neighbourhood, but not near exciting Castro Street and area. Never the less, it was a nice stay, with 2 bedrooms, big kitchen and living room. The apartment did need some maintenance, internal doors, and also kitchen cabinets needed some work.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 855craigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,814 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 227 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Property: Inn on Castro
Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,836 - ₹ 14,727
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing