We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in the Castro”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Home from home in the Castro”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights with Jan in April. This is a proper bed and breakfast experience - it is not a hotel. Breakfasts are communal, and delicious - every day we had a different baked item on the table along with cereals, fruit salad, fresh juice and great coffee, and a choice of two different made-to-order hot items (scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, pecan pancakes and strawberries, poached eggs on wilted chard with walnut toast etc.). You really feel like a guest in Jan's house, and meeting the other guests over breakfast is all part of the fun. Obviously, this is a gay-run B&B, and many guests (but not all) are gay, making it a diverse and interesting place to stay.

The location is great - 1 minute from tube and tram, and right in the heart of the Castro, with many great restaurants and lively gay bars. Jan provides a very useful listing of some of the best restaurants in the area - all the ones we tried were very good indeed.

Our room was the Hideaway Suite in the basement. If you want a lovely quiet retreat, with a separate entrance from the main house, this is just perfect. As a basement room, it does not have any natural light in the bedroom - but we were sleeping there, not sunbathing - we found it snug, and slept very well. Free sodas in the fridge and quality coffee/tea in the room were nice touches.

Would we go back - yes - we loved the city, had great fun in the Castro, and found that this was the perfect relaxing place to finish our American road trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dksmith_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    117
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
79
322
132
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

i've stayed at the inn on castro as a solo traveller and this year i was on a business trip with my team and we all stayed with jan, some in the main house and some in one of the apartments. both times it was great! it's perfectly located and suited for you if you're not a big fan of anonymous business hotels in the financial district or don't feel like staying at one the overstuffy 'historical' places. it's affordable, comfortable, friendly, uncomplicated, jan is a wonderful and helpful host and does make the best breakfasts ever. totally recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippy163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Inn on Castro offers 2 styles of accommodation, hotel and apartment. We wanted apartment on Castro as we were staying for a week. We picked Inn/hotel was on a lovely spot on Castro st, we did not realize the apartment was a walk up the hill to Caselli street. The apartment was in lovely quiet neighbourhood, but not near exciting Castro Street and area. Never the less, it was a nice stay, with 2 bedrooms, big kitchen and living room. The apartment did need some maintenance, internal doors, and also kitchen cabinets needed some work.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I had a wonderful stay! Jan loves what he does and it shows! The second I walk in the door he greeted me and made me feel at home. He provided me with a map of the city and a list of restraunts to eat at. The breakfast is absolutely amazing! The Inn was very clean and cozy as was the bed I slept in. I really did feel like I was at my home away from home during my stay. I will definately be staying there again on my next trip to San Francisco!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

It is hard to say what is better, the gourmet breakfast served with the grace, every day we had different plates, the attention to detail of the decor, the absolute gracefulness of Jan the host. Meticulous in directions and fantastic in advise concerning restaurants or shows. The location is perfect with the antique F tram leisurely getting you downtown or the fast muni, connecting to trips farther afield.
I have never rated anything perfect, but this one is it. Not to be faulted, well .... The wifi was a bit fickle at times but promptly reset when mentioned. Even the Japanese made sure there was a little imperfection in their masterwork.
The Castro of course is a vibrant area with always something happening.
Thanks Jan !

Room Tip: The white room has a fantastic view. There was normal traffic noise. Great decorations and very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,084 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
421 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Property: Inn on Castro
Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,721 - ₹ 14,535
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing