We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room - Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #72 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Room - Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Customer service was lacking from the moment we pulled up to the hotel. Traveling with a girl friend we decided that a weekend in San Francisco would be fun and since we had heard such great things about the Clift we would give it a try. When we pulled up to the front of the hotel with the discreet sign, we were not sure if we were at the correct door since the doorman was not outside. We were out of the car and pulling the door to the hotel open before we ran into a doorman. Once inside there was a line with probably 12 people waiting for assistance. After standing in line for 10 minutes we were informed that all but one of the computers were down. Check in took about 30 minutes (20 minutes to long). The good news was the room we were given on the 13 floor was quiet, spacious and had an incredible view. Even though the bathroom was small we enjoyed the room. The hotel is in a great location for walking to shopping, dining and everything in the Union Square area. Our check out was as disappointing as check in. Upon returning from breakfast we asked the doorman to bring our car around as we were checking out. After standing in line again for 20 minutes to correct our bill (we were charged for the room and it had already been paid for with points and they had the wrong mailing address), we went outside expecting our car and were informed no one had called to bring it up. We waited another 10 minutes and when the valet arrived with the car and we indicated our displeasure with the Clift’s customer service he said “don’t hold it against me”. Not a good team spirit. Overall the customer service experience was maybe a 2, the hotel is a 5. Would we stay again, maybe?

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear kelleyhome,

Thank you very much for posting an honest appraisal of your experience with us. It is certainly frustrating to understand how disappointed you were with your experience and we wish we could have had the opportunity to correct these issues.

If you would, at your earliest convenience, please reach out to me so we can further discuss your past stay and what we can do for the future!

Best,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    1,237
    527
    240
    150
See reviews for
354
1,203
208
940
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at Clift Hotel for only one night. It is right in the center of town. The lobby is DARK, even on a gorgeous sunny day this is a very DARK place. everything is dark brown with some very strange but interesting seating options and arrangements. The rooms are light but not interesting, they are small, the bathroom was tiny tiny, with a tiny sink, a tiny bath tub ( no separate shower), a tiny toilet and no ventilation to speak off.
The mattress felt it had been used a lot, not uncomfortable yet but close .
The rooms are noisy ! We could hear the neighbor's television, doors opening and closing, people on their phones and also everything that happened on the street down below ( we were on the 7th floor).
The bar is nice, also dark but it's a bar. The service in the bar was great.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
We would not go back .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakeMyBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

It's one of the most magnificent buildings in the city, in 1924 it was the largest hotel in California.

It is a Schrager & Starck original, a masterpiece.

The restoration of the Art Deco Redwood Room restores your faith in human nature.

The lobby is one of the top 10 hotel lobbies in the world.

The corner suite on the 13th floor is probably one of the most incredible city hotel rooms we have ever been lucky enough to stay in.

(Try one of the suites if you can, the standard rooms have very thin walls. If you get noisy neighbours you get a lot of detail).

The sleigh beds are truly, madly, deeply amazing.

It's a five minute walk from Union Square and all the best shops in the city.

The Velvet Room is an inspiring setting for breakfast and an unforgettable place for dinner.

The staff are enthusiastic, friendly and helpful.

Two top tips from the concierge: John's Grill on Ellis Street & Scala's Bistro on Powell Street.

When you stay at the Clift - you know you're staying in the coolest hotel in the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Danielle G,

WOW! Thank you for the very kind words. I have taken the liberty to share your review to all of our staff to see. The team tries very hard and is extremely passionate about ensuring the comfort of our guests. I am blessed to have a team that honestly cares about making people happy…and I thank you for taking the time to notice it.

Best,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Clift in June for a week. We booked our room through Expedia and upgraded to a studio suite. The room was very spacious and very comfortable. There were two tvs, one in the bedroom and one in the sitting area. Like most other reviews, the bathroom was very small, but we managed. We had a room facing Geary Street on the 8th floor. It was quiet and peacefull, although the street noise was loud if our window was open, but not much you can do about that. The location of this hotel was very accesible, we walked everywhere on our vacation, as everything was close enough. We had drinks in the Redwood Room one evening - very expensive, but a cool experience. The homeless people begging right outside the hotel doors was a little bit annoying. The area felt very safe, even with being so close to the Tenderloin. The internet is a rip off - $14.99 for 24 hours seems a bit extreme, but we only used it once to check into our flights and check our emails. I would definately reccomend this hotel to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Search online for prices - I found a really good deal on our room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Bugslc,

Thank you very much for the great review! The best compliment you can give us is to say that you are ‘recommending our hotel to your friends and family'. It is our goal to be your hotel of choice when you visit San Francisco. I am glad the you alse enjoyed the vibe at the Redwood Room.

Please reach out to me so we can discuss the opportunities of your stay, including the wifi cost and size of the bathroom. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Best,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in June 2012. The location of the Hotel is just great, we were able to walk everywhere. Checking in was efficient and the doormen very friendly. Our room stunk like an ashtray, we were assured that we were on a non-smoking floor and they did not understand why. We were offered an extraction fan but decided to open the window which meant we were constantly cold. When we closed the window at night the smell of cigarette smoke strongly returned. The room was small and quite clean, the bathroom could certainly use a makeover. Or they could do what they have done downstairs and just make everything dark so it looks trendy and you can't really see anything. The walls are very thin and it was quite uncomfortable to hear everything that was going on in the next room, this made us conscious of what we were saying. Everything in the Hotel is too expensive from internet to eating but the hotel is so well located that there are many other options close by which are very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Clarence d,

Thank you very much for you review on Tripadvisor. My apologies to you for the inconveniences that you have encountered. If you can reach out to me at your earliest convenience so we can address some of the negative experiences you had during your stay and see if we can change your mind on coming back.

Also, thank you for noticing the friendliness of our bellman staff as I have shared your review to them.

Sincerely,
John Frazier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#92 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,115 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Property: Clift Hotel San Francisco
Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,739 - ₹ 32,646
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing