We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A San Francisco Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andrews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Andrews Hotel
Ranked #123 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A San Francisco Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We spent two nights here while visiting San Francisco and would return. The Andrews is a small older hotel, but it does have a nice cozy San Francisco feel that chain hotels cannot offer.

While the bedroom of the petite suite was small, we were expecting that after reading reviews. It was roomy enough for two adults and a child. And, as an older building, there is some wear. Also, the floor in our room was uneven beneath the carpet.

The elevator is the bulding's original one and the size of a small closet, but it works and adds to the originality of a building like this one.
We especially liked the friendly staff, continental breakfast served right outside our door, wine reception at Fino's, and all day coffee in the lobby.

One downside is parking, which is valet only and about $35 a night. We really didn't need the car while staying here because a lot is within walking distance or you could use a taxi or public
transportation. We read about street noise, but didn't hear a lot compared to the noise we experienced while staying in the marina area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CM808CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    305
    117
    43
    24
See reviews for
56
303
52
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Thankfully, we only booked one night at the Andrews Hotel. The Queen room we booked was so small it was a challenge for two people to move around. The bathroom had a tub/shower and the tiniest corner sink I have ever seen. The sink was so small and so close to the toilet that you couldn't actually stand in front of it. The carpet had not been vacuumed - there was even a dirty q-tip on the middle of the floor (very hard to miss if you were actually cleaning the room). The continental breakfast consisted of pastries, fruit, coffee and tea - set out on each floor.

We arrived close to 11:00 pm, so fortunately we didn't have to spend much time at this hotel. I did mention at check out that I was disappointed in the room - very tiny and not clean. She shrugged, said it was a "Victorian style," and said she would let housekeeping know about the carpet.

I'm not sure how this hotel manages to get good reviews - possibly there is a wide variety of sizes and quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank dc4Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Older hotel (1905 building) aspiring to be "boutique." Nicely appointed, good staff, clean room, new paint and great continental breakfast. Kudos to the small cafe next door with wine service. That was a nice touch. AND the street noise was unbelievable! Screams, drunken profanity and garbage trucks at 6 AM on Sunday morning. Friends on other side of hotel reported nightclub noise until 3 AM. No matter how good the coffee is or hot the shower...if you can't sleep...what's the point? Bring ear plugs and sleeping pills.

Room Tip: Sleep above the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rungreencoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My partner and I spent two nights here, and were immediately struck by how friendly the hotel staff are -- they know, and love their city, and they are brimming full of useful tips you won't find in most guide books. Make the most of them! The location is absolutely fantastic, about ten minutes walk (uphill) from BART, twenty minutes or so from Chinatown, and near Market Street, Union Square, and the start of the Cablecar line. Breakfast was 'continental' style and is served in the hallway on each floor -- tea, coffee, orange juice, fruit and pastries. It's rather sparse, but the pastries are tasty enough, and it'll set you up until you can find somewhere for brunch. Rooms are cosy, with plenty of character and the original features are mostly present, so it really does still feel a little like 1905.

The main downside? With the building being constructed in 1905, some of the rooms are small. Our room was 407, and the bathroom was so small that I had to sit on the toilet sideways because the sink was directly above it! The mirror was also directly in front of the bed. If you like a little bit more space, I'd clarify at check-in. Also, with being near Union Square, there was some traffic and street noise. I'm a light sleeper, and it wasn't enough to disturb me.

If the price was right, I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the 07s! They're on the corner of the hotel, and the smallest rooms on offer. There's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandinsville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent a couple of nights here 2/11-2/12. A very nice small downtown hotel. We enjoyed the complimentary glass of wine every evening. Very clean, very quaint little place in a good location. Would stay here again. We were on the 4th floor and there was some street noise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Beresford Arms
#82 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Cova Hotel
#94 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Property: Andrews Hotel
Address: 624 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,552 - ₹ 24,262
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing