We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and location make up for the small rooms”
Review of Andrews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andrews Hotel
Ranked #123 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Leeds, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and location make up for the small rooms”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My partner and I spent two nights here, and were immediately struck by how friendly the hotel staff are -- they know, and love their city, and they are brimming full of useful tips you won't find in most guide books. Make the most of them! The location is absolutely fantastic, about ten minutes walk (uphill) from BART, twenty minutes or so from Chinatown, and near Market Street, Union Square, and the start of the Cablecar line. Breakfast was 'continental' style and is served in the hallway on each floor -- tea, coffee, orange juice, fruit and pastries. It's rather sparse, but the pastries are tasty enough, and it'll set you up until you can find somewhere for brunch. Rooms are cosy, with plenty of character and the original features are mostly present, so it really does still feel a little like 1905.

The main downside? With the building being constructed in 1905, some of the rooms are small. Our room was 407, and the bathroom was so small that I had to sit on the toilet sideways because the sink was directly above it! The mirror was also directly in front of the bed. If you like a little bit more space, I'd clarify at check-in. Also, with being near Union Square, there was some traffic and street noise. I'm a light sleeper, and it wasn't enough to disturb me.

If the price was right, I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the 07s! They're on the corner of the hotel, and the smallest rooms on offer. There's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    313
    128
    43
    24
See reviews for
58
310
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blandinsville, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent a couple of nights here 2/11-2/12. A very nice small downtown hotel. We enjoyed the complimentary glass of wine every evening. Very clean, very quaint little place in a good location. Would stay here again. We were on the 4th floor and there was some street noise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Good location near Union Square, Cablecar, Market Street and BART. The room was small (bathroom!), but sufficient for one person. On arrival the dustbin wasn't emptied, but that was the only serviceproblem. Breakfast served in the same level in front of the room was quite nice, quality of breakfast standard.
Would choose the Andrews again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Volker A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We are repeaters and have always enjoyed our stay at this hotel with character. Spent three nights this time, Staff exceptionally helpful. Continental breakfast available in hallways of each floor with trays to take the goodies to your room. Coffee, tea, water, and fruit always available in the lobby. Fino, the Italian restaurtant adjacent to the hotel offerred very good Italian food for dinner. We often coupled it with our free glass of wine, eating early before it got too crowded. Will very happily return on our next visit to the City.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the front have very good views but are noisier, I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milly1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I have spent 5 nights here while attending a conference.
The room was clean and comfortable.
The staff was nice and helpful, a nice extra is the complimentary hot drinks and fruit all day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aditrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#85 of 229 in San Francisco
619 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#170 of 229 in San Francisco
377 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#108 of 229 in San Francisco
1,872 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 229 in San Francisco
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Property: Andrews Hotel
Address: 624 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,017 - ₹ 24,870
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing