We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A backpacker's cozy home in SF” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelaide Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adelaide Hostel
Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A backpacker's cozy home in SF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Adelaide hostel is one of those gems you hope you happen upon whenever you arrive to a new place. I'm a frugal traveler. I look for high value, and I believe I've found it here with Adelaide. It's that perfect spot between affordable and high quality. Go cheaper and you won't be satisfied. Spend more money and you'll get a bit more but probably not worth the extra bucks. The location is great. A ten minute walk and you can be in Little Saigon eating vietnamese food or bar hopping. 10 minutes in the other direction and you're in the heart of the downtown and the shopping center. This is also where you can hop on bart(subway) or muni(train) and be taken all over the city. 20 minutes and you're in chinatown. The hostel is very cozy. This hostel is owned by someone who has backpacked and you see that in the amenities and atmosphere they have provided. There's plenty of computers and wifi for emailing, researching, etc. There is a large communal area with couches for lounging and meeting other travelers. There are lot's of bathrooms that are always kept clean. There is a free breakfast that is very good. It includes apples, oranges and melons, oatmeal, raisin bread, bagels, wheat and white bread with nutella, peanut butter, and many jams, coffee and tea. This alone would easily cost $6.00 in SF. And of course you can cook your own lunch and dinner if you like. Lastly, the staff is great. Friendly, positive, and competent they are always willing to help you with whatever you may need. They also have a free walking tour of SF almost every day, thursday wine and cheese night, and Friday pub crawl. Don't hesitate, book now, you've found your home away from home. SK.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAKBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    182
    73
    42
    46
See reviews for
23
72
244
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent place to stay !! Great location, clean and good price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ame L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Private Rooms are Excellent and Comfortable.
It's the middle of the city, and you get what you pay for. What was important to me was cleanliness and friendliness of other guests. And hot water! There were times when we could hear a few unwanted noises through the open windows and walls, however.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank postemistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis, mo
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was the one time trip advisor failed me. Either the reviewers have much lower standards than I do (which is saying something as I dont expect much) or they were paid off by Adelaide. We booked a private room for approx 85$, which horribly was a bargain. We werent informed thru the reservaton that the rooms were actually in a seperate building, so we had to waste time lugging around bags when they could have just given better directions. The various people working at the desk were not too bad, but I wouldnt say they were friendly either. Tiny tiny room, that was a little rundown. Breakfast which according to their website and reviews included hot cereal etc was ridiculous. They just put out giant jars of jam and peanut butter with commual utensils, and packages of bagels, english muffins and bread. If you were lucky and got up when they first start breakfast you could get some browning cut up fruit and coffee in a paper cup. What a dissapointment. Its not worth saving 20$ a night to stay here. Just dont do it. Maybe if they charged 50-60$/night it would be closer to the value of what they provide, but for 80+ its a total rip off, especially since they promise more than they deliver. You are better off going to the best western down the street. Yuck

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jawsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I can't stress strongly enough how no-body should ever stay here!! We were picked up from the airport by a transfer service, who stopped the minibus at the top of an alleyway, before opening the doors and demanding our money before getting our bags out (because he clearly knew how horrible this hostel was!!) we booked a private 'ensuite' room for 4 girls. we walked up the alleyway to find the hostel and dragged our suitcases up some stairs (thanks to the staff for their help... NOT) they took our reference etc and told us we were staying in a 'hotel' around the corner... we were quite happy to hear this going off what we had seen of Adelaide. Big mistake. We walked into said hotel, to be greeted by staff who clearly didn't want to be there. We got given our room key and pointed to the lift, which looked like it should have gone out with the dinosaurs - the lift was THAT bad we got told not to go in with more than 2 of us at a time and to hold the button the whole way up otherwise it wouldn't work. So the first 2 of us went up to the room, as we got out of the lift I tried to send it back down for our friends, it took about 5 attempts before it went back down. We walked into the room to find a dive. It was small, dingy, and felt disgusting. The wardrobes had big cracked mirrored doors and the fridge was mouldy. The bath already had water in. During check in at the Adelaide we had been told about a bar crawl and if we wanted to go to meet outside the hostel at a certain time. We went before this time to find they had already gone and the staff who hadn't gone just left us waiting outside without bothering to tell us (thanks for that) so we went out ourselves got very drunk just so we could bear to sleep in the hostel. There was no safe in the room so my friend left her ipad in the safe in the reception area, when we came back in at 3am and asked for it back, we went to get our room key out to prove it was my friends to be told 'it's ok I trust you' (could have been ANYBODY!) we decided we couldn't bare to stay there the remaining 3 nights so booked another hotel and moved on. We did ask for a refund (and got it) I cannot stress enough not to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kw6289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 51 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hostel

Property: Adelaide Hostel
Address: 5 Isadora Duncan Lane, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,882 - ₹ 14,149
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaide Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Adelaide Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing