We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best value in the Castro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beck's Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beck's Motor Lodge
Ranked #24 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best value in the Castro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

For $100+ bucks you get two double beds in motel style on Market a few blocks from Castro. Best value for your money. Go down the street to Holiday Inn and pay almost $200/night for same room. Geared towards gay male traveler. Gated stairs has cut cruising traffic but Market Street is right out the front entrance. Friendly staff, decent room. Great location and value for the $$$.

Room Tip: Rooms towards rear are quieter than rooms closer to Market Street in front of motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArturoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    264
    76
    22
    24
See reviews for
90
217
86
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Room was clean etc. All seemed good till the guests upstairs walked and stomped on the paper thin ceiling. Shaking my room with every step. Also could hear muffled talking and TVs. And the 2am screaming drunks returning to the rooms.. would be a perfect room if your deaf...Bring ear plugs..

Room Tip: Ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 154nicks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I chose this place because it was conveniently located near public transportation. Also, the price was reasonable (includes no parking fees applied!). We stayed at the third floor.

Upon arrival the first thing I thought was that the place sure needs renovating - the elevator, bedspread/comforter, curtains, carpet, bed, and TV. The room had this musky/old smell (think Grandma's house). The room also does not have a wall (a/c) unit. However, they did provide a stand alone heater/cooler/fan. The TV was funky but offers a variety of t.v. stations. The soap they provide is small and not really my favorite scent. There is an ironing board in the room but there's no iron. You will have to call the front desk to ask for one. After using, you have to return it to the front desk. I don't know if it's just this room that does this or not. But it was weird that you have to ask for an iron for a room that has an ironing board. By the way, the ironing board is one of those that you have to use on top of a table (small board). Luckily the bathroom was in good working condition and that it was well lit (skylight).

I gave this place a 3-rating because overall the staff was courteous and friendly (and this is what I primarily look at when staying at a hotel/motel). Checkin/checkout was easy. I also like that the parking was free. Where can you find free parking in San Francisco nowadays anyway...so kudos to this! I also like the convenient location.

I will probably stay here again if I'm on a very tight budget.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

As always, Beck's came through with a great stay. Clean, warm, convenient to the Castro. This may be my 10th visit. good for you

Room Tip: 3rd floor back of courtyard gives you no street car noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akamai1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Very convenient location, not suitable if you want to spend much time in your room, it's a bit grubby, but OK for the price...this place is all about location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shavasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BecksMotorLodge, General Manager at Beck's Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
I am very disappointed to hear that you found your room unsatisfactory. We inspect our rooms daily to make certain that our guests will be comfortable and happy - there is no excuse for a below average stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our neighborhood and our centrally located neighborhood. We are very lucky to be a part of such a vibrant city! If you have any suggestions on ways your room could have been improved, please message me. Feedback is always welcome. Thank you. Brittney Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#26 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beck's Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck's Motor Lodge

Property: Beck's Motor Lodge
Address: 2222 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,098 - ₹ 19,356
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beck's Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Castro, Beck's Motor Lodge is surrounded by charming tree lined streets, unique restaurants and lively nightlife. We have a private sundeck where you will enjoy lovely views of the city. Public transportation via the historic streetcar is available outside your door. Whether you're on a business trip or relaxing vacation, straight or LGBTQ, Beck's Motor Lodge welcomes you to San Francisco. Our revitalizing guestrooms, helpful staff and unrivaled locale create a vibrant hub for all visitors looking for adventure in a diverse, dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Beck's Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck`s Motor Hotel San Francisco
Becks Motel San Francisco
Becks Hotel San Francisco
Becks Motor Lodge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing