We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting trip...”
Review of Alcatraz Island

Alcatraz Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 201.75*
and up
Alcatraz Admission and Wine Country Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Park rangers conduct tours by recounting the prison's thrilling history along with intriguing anecdotes about Al Capone and other legendary figures that made a "home" here.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very interesting trip...”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Alcatraz is one of those places everyone knows by name but has very little "real" knowledge of. After going and seeing it in person and hearing some of the tales told by inmates and guards alike I learned a lot.

The trips book up very fast so if you are planning on taking the tour I suggest that you schedule it in prior to your visit and buy your tickets as far out in advance as possible.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thung88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

40,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29,746
    8,609
    1,442
    217
    181
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Interesting for An Old Prison”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We got tickets ahead of time for the Sunday morning boat. This was a good idea. We were on the 9:30 trip which left on time. We went to the film first and then did the audio tour (both included in the price of admission). Were done with everything by 11:30. Definitely worth the cost of admission. Gives you a good overview of the whole history of the island. I would strongly recommend that if you have trouble walking that you use the complimentary tram up to the top of the hill.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jlk703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Favorite part of trip”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

It was so cool finally getting to this landmark! The ferry ride over was pleasant, once on the Island we got to use headsets for a tour. Was simple and informing. Great gift shop, too.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenDeGennaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This was a great tour. The views from the boat on the way there and back are good for taking pictures. A little windy and cold on the top level the day I went.
The audio tour was very informative and allowed you to go at your own pace.

Overall great value and very interesting!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mellocaramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If your in San Fran it's a must to visit Alcatraz!!”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had a tour of Alcatraz on our visit to San Fran - what an insight to how the prisoners lived. Including the where the prisoners such as "the birdman of Alcatraz" and the world famous gangster Al Capone was inprisoned!! They also had night tour of the prison available - but I wasn't brave enough for that!! If I ever visit San Fran again I will most definately be visiting Alcatraz again!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ffi0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alcatraz Island also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Alcatraz Island? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing