We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We spend a wonderful weekend at the Bluenose Inn from the warm welcome at the registration desk to the comfortable rooms it was memorable experience.The hotel is on a hill and our room was on the fourth floor with a balcony, the view was incredible.The room was large beautiful and with all the amenities you would want. Two pools one outside and a beautiful inside pool sauna and hot tub.A great room to relax and reed during the day with a piano player in the evening all in all and Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: The fourth floor in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul-Sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 348 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2015

Wow, we made late reservations and decided to pay the relatively high price to stay at the Bluenose for July 4th weekend. What a very nice place to stay.. Deserving of its 4 star rating. Huge room which is very updated and high quality everything about it. Sits high above the harbor, great view of the bar. Were able to see the fireworks from our room's veranda. Close enough to walk to town and close to the park too. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building for best view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

My family stayed there June 8-12. Our stay at the Bluenose helped to make this the most magical vacation ever. We arrived late and decided we wanted to switch to the Mizzentop...no problem. The room was beautiful and charming with a fireplace and living room area; two queens; a lovely bathroom/sink area; and private balcony with gorgeous view. Next day it rained and we enjoyed the spa (amazing staff and yummy treatments) and then enjoyed the fabulous pool (warm), Jacuzzi, and sauna. Front desk staff was very helpful getting us into the restaurant next door. We loved the great room and music! It felt "old world" and romantic...something we all loved. The Keurig and fridge were great. Staff was very pleasant and place was kept extra clean. We will definitely be staying here again. Worth every penny!!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lianna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and were satisfied, but not thrilled. It's a nice hotel, and the staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little dated, but generally clean and comfortable. Having a mini fridge was a nice plus. Parts of the hotel seemed a little worn down and in need of repair (like a sloping deck at the top of the stairs), but rather than being a negative, it actually contributed to the somewhat rustic charm that helped make our stay enjoyable. Our kids enjoyed the indoor pool, which was quite nice, and the outdoor pool provided a nice setting for swimming. We had a beautiful view from our room on the 3rd floor (I recommend requesting a room on the 3rd floor of the Stenna Nordica building, as close to the glass elevator as possible - like rooms 320-325 - as it will provide you with beautiful views of Bar Island and the surrounding area). We also had a little seating area outside our front door, which gave us a nice place to sit, relax and take in the view. There was a very talented piano player playing each night in the lobby, so if you're into such things, it's a nice place to sit and hear some good music. A continental breakfast was included with our room, but it was very disappointing. There is a small selection of items, and it was set up in a very small room that was very crowded each morning. I suggest eating breakfast elsewhere. The onsite restaurant, The Looking Glass, was excellent for dinner and provides incredible views, although we did not try it for breakfast or lunch. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if we get a chance to return to Bar Harbor.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank ERFSU82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Convenient location just a few blocks away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Bar Harbor. Enjoy the restaurants and charming downtown area, but come back to the Bluenose Inn for the view and a peaceful nights sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.4 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
1.5 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
0.8 km away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 10,191 - ₹ 20,510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing