We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Regency was GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Regency was GREAT”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My wife and I had the opportunity to have an adult get-away weekend. We chose Bar Harbor...more specifically, the Holiday Inn Regency. After reading some of the nit picky reviews, we were a little concerned as to whether we chose the right place. WE DID. We had a late check in. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly. We checked into our room and loved it. We had a King Size bed with OCean View and we were not disappointed. Next morning, walked around the entire complex and met many wonderful staffers who were friendly, engaging, and welcoming. We had no idea the weekend we chose would be the same weekend a bunch of little leaguers would inundate the complex...but the kids were well behaved and we had no issues. The room itself was very good. The staff was friendly, and the views were unbelievable.
To those who tend to nit pick all the little things that may not be perfect, I suggest you stay home and pretend to travel. Sure, were there some things that could have been better? Yes. But we also understand nothing is PERFECT and Perfection is what YOU make of it. We found nothing wrong with the hotel or staff or the grounds. The grounds were clean, the pool was great.....and to those who want to go negative...sit down on your pool deck chair, grab a drink, and just take in the breathtaking views. That should be enough to make you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view with a balcony. We didn't have a balcony...but the view was still breathtak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    381
    254
    147
    108
See reviews for
339
517
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I watch Hotel Impossible. He stresses the importance of webpages as a marketing device. Well, webpages and pictures can sell but they can deceive.

Once we got into the room, we asked ourselves - "how did we pick such a dud?" The answer, we were pulled in the the pics. The pics of the view, the pool, all look wonderful. And I highly recommend this hotel, if you want to spend your entire visit there - OUTSIDE.

First, the Internet barely works in the rooms. We both work remotely, so not having net connection costs us money and time. The fact the hotel really didn't have net in the rooms (or had early 1990s net speed), was particularly bad because we traveled to Maine from a DC area with no power and net. This wasn't our complaint alone, we overheard other guests complaining in the lobby about it.

Second, the rooms are low end. Look like a 50$ Hotel Six room. Pillows that are about the size of airplane pillows. My girlfriend has headaches from the basic lack of real pillows.

Third, when my girlfriend went to use the hairdryer, it make a grinding noise and smelled like smoke. I have no doubt it would have caught fire if left on for a few minutes. The staff had to come and replace it.

This hotel is like snake oil. You buy it and then feel completely ripped off. The room was literally about 5 times as expensive as it should have been. If you want a ratty room at a good price, stay along the highway and drive to the scenery.

Finally, the hotel in inconveniently located, one must drive into town and the park. Do yourself a favor, stay in downtown Bar Harbour.

Room Tip: Don't be deceived by the pics, ratty rooms, no real Internet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Glenn S,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am pleased you found our staff service satisfactory. Please accept my sincerest apology if you did not find our room accommodations to your liking and for any inconvenience you experienced with our internet connection. Thank you for bringing these issues into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

standard 2-bed room booked with AMEX Travel-upon arrival room had a foul smell, requested move to another room, debit card was charged $21.40 for "Accomodation upsell" , staff that we dealt with were poorly trained, rude, a negative experience on a gorgeous Maine weekend :-(

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MummaDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar-Harbor-Regency, Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your evening here at the Bar Harbor Regency. As you can see by the other reviews our staff is very professional and treat our guest with the greatest amount of respect. The reason you would have accomodation upsell is because your reservation was booked by a third party reservation site and the guest wanted an upgrade to a nicer room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The room is small and old, and the AC is noisy. The indoor and outdoor envirenment is not quite. Housekeeper does not change the facial and cleaning soaps daily, so you have to re-use the small soaps. The general manager is somehow rude and not helpful. It's not worth for the money we paid. We travel to Bar Harbor frequently and we definitely won't stay at the same hotel in the future trips.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

we spent two nights here while visiting Bar Harbor. The motel is nice, butslightly over priced. The room was clean, however we checked in while housekeeping ws still on the floor and the same dirt was still in the halls when they left. They could not have run a sweeper at all as there were small pieces of trash that would have been gotten by even the worst vacume.

The property is well located between Bar Harbor and the National Park.

Room Tip: Go with the main building and ask for an ocean view roomwith balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gramps-nanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.9 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.3 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
2.5 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.6 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.5 km away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Property: Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,819 - ₹ 22,735
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing