We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Hull
Level Contributor
128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great views”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed one night.Check in was quick and easay. Staff were efficient. We had an Oceanview room in the main building. Room was large and clean, everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn.
The hotel grounds were well maintained and a pleasure to walk around.
We did not eat in the hotel as the hotel is less than 5 minutes away from the town.
Overall a satisfactory stay and we would return to this hotel

Room Tip: Go for an Oceanview room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreakfastkingHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    381
    254
    147
    108
See reviews for
339
517
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LOUYISVILLE KY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My wife had a meeting that started at 1pm on Friday. We made reservation and received a timely acknowledgement. She had to present at 2 pm that day we asked for an early check in. When we arrived we were told room was not ready. The room was large and clean The matrsess was old and creaked. When we asked about lunch the young lady at front desk sent us to Stewarts. It was a bit of a walk and was closed. When we returned to the front desk and asked for the manager , the gentleman responded he was He sAid they were closed for lunch. I asked why we were not advised on the acknowledgement. It would have been easy to stop and get a bite on the way in. He was totally rude. I will continue the reviiew as the weekend continued. It is a do not stay. The housekeeping staff is very nice. When I finally checked in the doorman did not offer to help he was useless. Stay away from this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TEDSPARTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar-Harbor-Regency, Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
I am sorry to hear that you had issues with the hotel. The hotel does clearly state that check in is at 4pm and we will try to accommodate any early arrivals. Unfortunately the hotel was very busy the night before and we could not check in the guest early. Also our website does state that our restaurant only serves breakfast and dinner. On the issue about the manager being rude, he was actually being helpful. The manager stated that the restaurant was closed but would be happy to suggest numerous different options located only a mile away. The guest did not want to hear any suggestion. The guest also failed to state in his review that the hotel manager did have to call his room due to noise complaints, causing the hotel to actually move 2 guests. I understand that the guest is unhappy but I feel that the hotel did everything in their power to accommodate the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Millerton, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

W had very nice rooms and they seem to have updated them, clean and comfortable. The view was just amazing and the pool was heated and lovely. It's a short walk(20 min) to town, which was nice, but not so nice if you have kids or elderly with you, the road is busy.
We had dinner twice at the lobster place by the water. The beer was good, wine was to pricey to be served in plastic cups.dinner was delicoiuse and the service in the restaurant and the hotel was superb.
We were the the week before memorial day and there was still construction going on, aft we complaint that we were not notified of the construction we received a refund for each night , which was very much appreciated and I thought very good business practise.
Overall, I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Birgit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Although modest on first impressions, this hotel/ motel is definately value for money.
Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet, & the attention to detail & maintenance were obvious.
Little extras, not provided in other USA hotels, were all there.
The home cooked cookies on arrival were an added bonus.
Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn menu, however the attention to hygiene is to be praised.
The lady supervising was welcoming, entertaining and a wealth of information.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronden2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I was expecting just your average hotel experience but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and well maintained. We didn't spend much time in the room so I just wanted something that was clean and I got it. The only thing odd in the room was a college size fridge that was placed in the middle of the room. The remote was dead - but I can't really complain about that.

I never use the pool at a hotel. Maybe it was the weather, being both cold and warm on days, but the pool was calling. I used the hot tub on several nights and the pool several days. The hot tub is oddly situated in the middle of everything, but it was still relaxing.

The breakfast was your standard below par buffet breakfast. Skip it and head to 2 Cats or The Cafe This way for the same price and a much better meal.

The lobster pound is very close, but pricey. I would not recommend it except for the views.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashland A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.9 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.3 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
2.5 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.6 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.5 km away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Property: Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,762 - ₹ 22,748
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing