We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Maine Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Maine Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Our family of four (including a 13 year old and 9 year old) spent a week at this hotel in early June. Our room was in the main building on the ground floor, with a walk out to a quaint garden. Included was a very nice continental breakfast served from 7-11 each morning, which was perfect for our early starts. The hotel's location is the best in Bar Harbor, located right at water's edge with terrific views of Frenchman's Bay. From the hotel you have easy walking access to the entire town, and you are a quick 5 minute drive to Acadia National Park (hotel has free onsite parking). While we did not utilize the spa facilities, they appear nice. We did use the pool and hottub, which were a few steps from our room and were quite enjoyable, especially for the kids.

The rooms' decor are classic and somewhat dated, but perfectly fine for our use. We had two queen size beds, and there is a flat screen TV in the room, along with a jetted tub/shower (in bathroom) and ceiling fan in main room. My only complaint was the noise level. The walls are very thin and you can hear the neighbor's phone conversations, as well as every creak of the hotel. When people use the showers in the rooms above and next to you, the pipes make considerable noise. It may be better if you have an upstairs room (not sure).

Overall, the location makes staying here worthwhile.

Room Tip: First floor rooms seem noisy (although you have a nice walkout).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    387
    94
    48
    12
See reviews for
375
845
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

As we drove into town we quickly realized that the Bar Harbor Inn was in the perfect location! Right on the water and right in town. We could walk to everywhere and only got in the car to go to Acadia. We checked into our room and were very happy with it. When we booked, they didn't have any rooms with 1 king bed available, so we opted for 2 queens, which is fine with us because we like to lay out our suitcases on the free bed. The property is very well kept and quaint. Clean rooms with a nice big modern bathroom. The room was slightly more expensive than others in the area. We paid $170/night. It was well worth the money, given the optimal location. The main building is rather luxurious and although we stayed in one of the adjacent buildings, the upkeep and atmosphere carried through. The continental breakfast consisted of blueberry muffins, a crumb cake, lots of fresh fruit, bagels and cream cheese, oat meal packets, yogurts, cereals and toast. We would come here again for sure! They also have a spa on the property. My husband bought me an 80 minute prenatal massage, and it was well worth the $115. The front desk had given us a coupon for $20 off a $100 spa purchase, so we saved a little too!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danandhillj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This wondeful place deserves it's vote by Travel and Leisure magazine as one of the top 500 hotels in the world. It has the best location in Bar Harbor, right on the ocean and very close to the shopping streets. The rooms are spacious, attractive and have everything you could need including coffee making, iron and board, fluffy robes to wear to the pool etc. I was offered a package for dinner - $41 for 3 courses and the meal was superb, served in the beautiful Reading Room watching the sun set and the boats coming and going. My only quibble was the cheese plate. I love the big bries, camemberts, blues and castellos from France, Australia and New Zealand and find American cheeses quite bland and uninteresting. Next time I would choose one of the beautiful looking deserts. The little extras such as coffee and cookies in the lobby and nice little surprises with dinner, give the Bar Harbor Inn an air of generosity and traditional hospitality - rare commodities when most place are trying to cut costs. The free continental breakfast served in the Oceanfront lodge is excellent or you can pay a few extra dollars for a cooked breakfast in the Reading Room. My choice of rooms would be in the Oceanfront building where every room has a view of the ocean. I'm looking forward to returning next year with a group of Australians who I know will love this place

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have great views for a little less than the main lodge rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dingobreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We just returned from our 5th visit to the Bar Harbor Inn and we never get tired of going. We stay in the Oceanfront Lodge which is a little less expensive that the main hotel. The room and balcony have unrestricted views of Frenchmans Bay. It is wonderful to sit there in the morning with coffee and in the evening with a cocktail and enjoy the the spectacular view. The continental breakfast is great - their signature coffee cake is delicious. Lots of fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, hard boiled eggs, etc. The staff is extremely accomodating, the rooms are well appointed and nicely decorated. It is one of favorite places. We love Acadia National Park with is 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Like I said before - we love the Oceanfront Lodge - big rooms with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveled2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had a wonderful week long vacation at the bar harbor Inn. Our room had a fabulous view of the ocean and was very comfortable. The free breakfast was delicious and the ocean walk is very beautiful, right behind our room. The innkeeper, Fred Link, is so nice and helpful and completed our lovely vacation with his thoughtfullness. Can't wait to go back soon.

Steve and Maianna Samuel
Cambridge, MA

Room Tip: we love the oceanfront lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acadiahikerCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
1.5 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.9 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.3 km away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,840 - ₹ 25,881
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing