We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful & relaxing B&B”
Review of Primrose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Primrose Inn
Ranked #8 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed in the lefffingwell room for 5 nights in late May and our experience could not have been better. We were very pleased with all the amenities (bottles of water, soda, snacks, morning paper, great movie selection, afternoon tea, gps's, kindles...) our room was on 1st floor with a king bed and private porch. It is at an ideal spot in the house tucked away in the back part (its far away from kitchen noise and guest check-in but close to the wine fridge, snacks, movies & also close to the backdoor with assigned parking space. The room had a electric fireplace, extremely comfy bed, average sized flat-screen tv and a big covered porch with great rocking chairs. bathroom was spacious with double sinks. I would highly recommend this room even though it's more pricey. the staff was wonderful, full of great advice on places to go, things to do and where to eat. Our favorite place was the side street cafe. The Inn has a great location, about a 5 min walk to all the restaurants, shops and harbor. We will definitely be going back here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TG55667788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Primrose Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 291 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

This was my favorite B&B during my recent trip to the coast of Maine (staying in a different B&B every night). Don't be put off by the unusual dark green exterior. The interior is top notch! The new owners are keeping up the high standards set by the previous owners. In addition to all the normal amenities one has at a nice B&B, guests have access to national newspapers on Kindles and can borrow portable GPS systems. The inn even has DVDs of all the movies that won "picture of the year" during the last three decades. And it has central air plus ceiling fans!! I even had a nice porch with rocking chairs outside my door. But best of all, someone is at the welcome desk until 10 p.m. which is especially comforting to women traveling alone. (Mary is a jewel.) A very nice experience indeed!

Room Tip: Loved the front room downstairs because of the private porch and rocking chairs.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Great staff, friendly, quiet and comfy room in charming old B&B historic house with modern bathroom. Cozy bed and bedding. Yummy breakfast but weak coffee. TV was only 15" but not needed for this visitor.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

3 to 4 stars depending on the room. Upstairs is better than downstairs unless you like being kept awake by the pitter-patter of footsteps. I was downstairs, across from the kitchen - where work starts about 6 am. The downstairs rooms are more expensive since they have private patios (which I did not use) and more space (unnecessary). My bed had a step, though it was really only useful for tripping over. The towels (Turkish Towel Company) were super soft. The walls were thin. Thanfully no one took to heart the lodging's "romantic" self description. If it were my place, I would ditch the effeminate decor and spend more money on noise insulation. Nice place otherwise. A simple but solid breakfast, and cake + cookies in the late afternoon. Coffee is available around the clock. There is also a DVD library. Flat-screen TV with 70 channels (but nothing on). Clientele skews elderly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank dgdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Our second time staying at the Primrose Inn was as pleasant and restful and the first. We were not sure about B&B's because we are private people and don't always like to mingle during our infrequent vacations. But we had no cause to worry at the Primrose. Jeff and Kathrine Shaw are top-notch hosts, the rooms are comfy and quiet (even though our room was right across the hall from the kitchen, we were never disturbed by kitchen noise), and the food is excellent. They have two choices for breakfast, either an egg dish or something special like pancakes and French toast. All yummy!! I cannot say enough good things about the Primrose Inn, except that we plan to stay there again and have recommended it to several friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.0 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
0.6 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
0.1 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,731 reviews
0.4 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
376 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Inn

Address: 73 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 13,318 - ₹ 19,165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Primrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Bar Harbor Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located only a short stroll from Main Street and only a mile from Acadia National Park. Features 15 spacious guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, luxurious linens, air conditioning, flat-panel TV/DVD and wireless internet access. Many rooms feature gas fireplaces, spa tubs and private porches. Full breakfast served each morning; also Afternoon Tea with freshly baked goods. Reserved parking; smoke-free and pet-free. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Primrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primrose Hotel Bar Harbor
Primrose Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing