We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B+B and Getaway”
Review of Inn at Bay Ledge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Bay Ledge
Ranked #10 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great B+B and Getaway”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The location is great - just far enough from the hubub of Bar Harbour but still convenient for sightseeing. Our room was beautiful and we had a great view of the water and Frenchman's Bay from our room and balcony.

Breakfast is amazing here. There are plenty of cold options, but the star of the show is their hot entree for the day. Foodies will be in heaven! Fresh baked cookies are availabel in the afternoon for tea or a snack.

The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful. While we knew the places we wanted to visit, Jack made some excellent restuarant suggestions. We really enjoyed exploring some local restuarants that were not inundated with tourists.

June is an excellent time to visit the area, just before the busy tourist season. The private, rocky beach with a beautiful natural rock arch is amazing to see too. We even saw porpoises from the beach! Truly a magical place. I highly recommend this B+B and will be returning myself as soon as I can.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13Narya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    28
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
274
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

An awesome location, surroundings and water view. Only surpassed by the friendliness of the proprietors, staff and Woody. We would definitely return in a heart beat. The comfort,coziness and cleanliness of the rooms is without equal.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieGrant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I stayed at this inn the week-end of Oct.15/16. I was very pleased at the hospitality and warmth of the inn keepers Jack and Jeani Ochtera and their staff. they went beyond my expectations for service and helpfulness.
My friend and I stayed at the summer cottage which was lovely and clean and very inviting. It is nestled right at the edge of the water as described. The private beach of the inn was ideal for walking and privacy and its location was perfect and close to Acadia Park and hamlet of Bar Harbor.
I can not say enough superlatives to describe my experience in this inn. I highly recommend this place to travelers who are looking for a home away from home.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a perfect view of the water although I believe most of the rooms face the ocean. While o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Beautiful views from our room, porch & waterfront, very helpful/caring owners & staff, great breakfast, beautiful room decor & Jeanie's "tea time" snacks were to die for. And Jack can keep you entertained on any topic from local politics to Ray Romano. Thank you for allowing us into your home, and treating us like family.
Bob & MK

Room Tip: Choice of rooms w/ water view, or "cabin" in the woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cincypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I stayed at the summer cottage. It was a very beautiful little place with it's own fireplace and a deck that offers an awe inspiring view of the water and mountains of Maine. Came at the peak color of fall so that added to the great visual experience I had. Add to that the warmth and graciousness of the owners and their friends and that sums up to an unforgettable experience. Stay in this inn is a must!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodronry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 km away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
5.6 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
7.7 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,665 reviews
6.4 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
625 reviews
7.2 km away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Bay Ledge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Ledge

Property: Inn at Bay Ledge
Address: 150 Sand Point Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7564
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,458 - ₹ 24,217
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Ledge Hotel Bar Harbor
Inn At Bay Ledge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing