We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot to stay while visiting Acadia N.P.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We were so pleased when we arrived at Sunnyside Motel and Cottages! Richard and Helen, the hosts/owners, were very kind and helpful from the minute we arrived. Coming from Hawaii we didn't know what to expect, but Richard provided great information about things to see inside Acadia N. P., as well as the surrounding area. It was an ideal location! The Park was very busy due to the Star Gazing Festival going on (Sept. 2017), but we were able to see the night sky and all its beauty right from Sunnyside. There were 4 of us staying in a 2 bedroom cottage (#8) and we were very comfortable. Richard and Helen run a lovely motel and everything was extremely clean and in wonderful condition. We could tell they paid attention to every detail inside and out. The cottages were well cared for and all the flowers and lawn chairs/picnic tables were a lovely touch. They greeted us each day with a smile, as well as coffee/tea, and offers of any assistance needed. We will recommend Sunnyside to our friends/family and look forward to our return visit to ME and the Sunnyside Cottages!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom cottage (#8) had good size rooms, nice sun porch and equipped kitchenette. Backed up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fields-Ohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

This was a great find in our trip up the Maine coast. It was charming, what with the pine panelling and all, but there were other factors as well. Very good price for the location, great proximity to Acadia, and closeness to the bridge off the island. But more than anything, the hosts, Richard and Helen, were very nice, very informative, and very welcoming. I can see us going back there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a motel room, but cabins were available and would be good for bigger parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We enjoyed staying here as the owners are a very friendly Polish family. It is very easy to find as the cottages and motel are located just after crossing the bridge to the island. Parking is easy and the siute has a small lauderette.

The rooms are realtively basic, but very clean. When we asked to get some hot water, the owner loaned us a kettle.

The only downside is the need to drive some 4-5 miles to a restaurant, and our first night it poured down and so driving was not not pleasant...

Room Tip: We stayed in a the block, I think the cottage units would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LindiBoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We spent a night in this motel on Tuesday, the 4th. The gentleman who checked me into the room was very nice. My guess is he is the owner. He offered advice about restaurants and the best time to drive up Cadillac Mountain to watch the sunrise. The room was very clean and fresh. The bed was firm but comfortable, and the bathroom was adequate. This is definitely a great value for the money, close enough to the action of Bar Harbor, and a quick drive into the park.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed in one of the cottages for 5 nights while visiting Acadia. They were very clean and had everything we needed. The proprietor takes pride in what he has built and run for over 30 years. If you want plush, go the Bar Harbor or one of the other towns.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.6 km away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 42 in Bar Harbor
382 reviews
11.4 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 42 in Bar Harbor
450 reviews
3.1 km away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Acadia Ocean View Motel
Acadia Ocean View Motel
#36 of 42 in Bar Harbor
24 reviews
10.1 km away
High Seas Motel
High Seas Motel
#21 of 42 in Bar Harbor
158 reviews
7.1 km away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#30 of 42 in Bar Harbor
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Motel & Cottages

Address: 1441 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7143
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 6,812 - ₹ 11,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyside Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunnyside Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Motel And Cottages
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Hotel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing