We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a family owned property”
Review of High Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Seas Motel
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Having never visited Bar Harbor or Acadia National Park before, The High Seas Motel seemed like a a good place to call home for a couple of nights. We weren't disappointed. It is very close to the entrance to Acadia National Park and close to Bar Harbor. I was greeted by a very friendly staff who made us feel glad we chose their motel and was provided recommendations for restaurants. The room was spacious, very clean and had everything we needed. As this is an independent establishment, expect the individuality and relax (not a chain and a welcome change). We enjoyed the serenity of The High Seas Motel after a day of the bustle and crowds of Bar Harbor. There are restaurants close to the motel and in Bar Harbor or you can purchase breakfast items from the local grocery store. Coffee and tea is served in the common area which was appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

We stayed three nights. Everything went well. The room was not large but it suited our needs. The bed was comfortable, the AC was good and very quiet, the shower was more than adequate, and the TV was larger than expected. The owners were very pleasant. The price was actually lower than a similar week last September. Construction was not an issue.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

The High Seas Motel met what we wanted for a quick visit to Bar Harbor. The price was good - atleast for Bar Harbor, the room was clean and the staff of the family owned establishment were friendly. It sort of felt like being back 30 or 40 years ago - the lodging seemed a bit dated, but it was very clean and generally well maintained.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CO_Traveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

This motel was impeccably clean and the room we had was a great size. It was located in a quiet area but was easy to get in to town in spite of all the road construction. If you want a snack remember to get it before the office closes! The vending machines are in the office area. The office staff graciously provided us with a map to help navigate the area and it was a huge help.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We enjoyed our week stay. Quaint motel, clean and our room was recently remodeled. Perfect for what we needed, a place to sleep. The pool looked nice and we had a patio table and chairs right outside our door. We did have to walk to the snack room to get coffee, but it was right around the corner from our room and luckily the weather was good. The managers were great and very helpful. There was not decaf coffee in the snack room but we didn't ask if it was available.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the 2-person room with the patio table and chairs and it was near the snack room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katrea95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Harbor
8.5 km away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 42 in Bar Harbor
382 reviews
10 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
100 reviews
2.5 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 42 in Bar Harbor
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
8.4 km away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
10.1 km away
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
#31 of 42 in Bar Harbor
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Seas Motel

Address: 339 State Highway #3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 4,537 - ₹ 9,786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your High Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Seas Hotel Bar Harbor
High Seas Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing