We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of The Central House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Central House
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This place is great for what it is. We stayed here after 2 days of camping, and we were quite happy. We wanted something not too expensive, close to everything, and to support a local business. It satisfied all those quite well. The room was nothing special, but was big enough, clean, comfortable bed (and a nice view from the 3rd floor). Jerry was very nice and professional and even made some good recommendations for where to catch some local, live music. It's a super close walk to everything and they have free parking. They are not a B&B, so no breakfast, but I would highly, highly recommend you go to Two Cats a few blocks away for a memorable breakfast. Oh, they do give you a $10 certificate to Geddy's but we didn't go.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    42
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
65
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights in July. This was my favorite out of all of the hotels / B&Bs we stayed in during a 10 day trip. The location is perfect, as you can leave the car in their parking lot and walk all around town to sights, restaurants and bars. There is free tea & coffee all day long & some ice to cool down drinks in your room. They don't serve breakfast, but instead give a gift card to a local restaurant (which can be used at any time the restaurant is open), which I really appreciated. The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated to fit the style. (I also enjoyed peeking into the vacant rooms where the doors are open, as each is different). It's a great place to relax & feel like you are on vacation. The house is very spacious, so if you don't feel like spending time in your room or out on the town, you can relax in one of the great rooms or on the porch.

I definitely recommend the Central House for: cleanliness, location, price, charm, atmosphere

Downsides: can't think of any!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BR2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicopee
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Everything was great - our room (on the third floor), bed, bathroom, location, morning coffee (excellent) and the gift card to a local restaurant (food was wicked good and excellent variety). We plan to return and stay longer. The Central House was a great find. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicopeeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Not worth the $:
1. Coffee & tea served only in the morning. Day & evening: you only get water.
2. No breakfast is included! You get a 10$ card per night to spend at a local pub for lunch or dinner (food is not great).
3. Rooms are outdated and bathrooms need some upgrades.
4. Avoid room 206 (our room): dingy and dark.
B&B manager is nice and friendly, but that isn`t enought to justify the big flaws listed above.
Avoid if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecentralhouse_955, Manager at The Central House, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
We appreciate all feedback, especially when it gives us an opportunity to make improvements in our business and facility. After this comment was made about poor light conditions in Room 206 during dark, rainy days, I replaced the old ceiling fan with a new fan/light combination. There are now four additional lightbulbs shining from the ceiling of Room 206 for a brighter, more cheery experience. Thank you for helping us make The Central House even better!

See the photo of Room 206 with its new fan/light in our Central House photos.

Happy trails,

Jerry
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Downtown location with many shops and eating establishments near by. Although no A/C required window to be left open to allow breeze, which in turn made it very noisy in the AM. Street sweeper at 6am.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handy11121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecentralhouse_955, Manager at The Central House, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
The Central House is 124 years old and does not have central air for all rooms. We do have window mounted air conditioners for every room: however, it is usually chilly until the end of June and most guests use the room heaters at night rather than needing A/C. This year we had a mini heat-wave in May and it got above 70F for a couple of days.

We are happy to install A/C units in the window of any room before then upon request. We appologize for the unforseen discomfort and recognize that air conditioners provide welcome white noise for many.

Best wishes,

Jerry & Jaimie
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 km away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
359 reviews
0.3 km away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#37 of 41 in Bar Harbor
172 reviews
0.3 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
288 reviews
1.0 km away
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Cromwell Harbor Motel
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central House

Property: The Central House
Address: 60 Cottage St, PO Box 955, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1831
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,985 - ₹ 12,579
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a residence in 1887, historic Central House opened its doors to the public in 1925, making it the longest operating inn in Bar Harbor. Originally named Briarfield (for the blackberries, so emblematic of Maine summers, that still grow in our border) Central House has a history of hospitality that extends to its earliest years. Please visit our website for a brief history! Located at the center of downtown Bar Harbor, Central House enjoys easy access to restaurants, shops, waterfront, Bar Island, the Bar Harbor Shore Path, the Village Green and Island Explorer buses. Walk or bike to Acadia. Please come and enjoy our welcoming front porch, where visitors to Bar Harbor have come to relax during one hundred and thirty Maine summers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Central House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Bar Harbor
The Central House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing