We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Highbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highbrook Motel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed two nights at the end of August on our self drive tour of New England and this motel was definitely one of the best we stayed in. Quiet location but within easy reach of the town on the free shuttle bus that runs every 30 mins in the day and every 15 mins in the evening. The grab and go breakfast was brilliant and other hotels would do well to copy. Even a passing hurricaine (Irene) did not spoil our stay as the people in charge made sure we were OK. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the new building at the back with big rooms for very little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    169
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
117
464
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in early October, while in New England for leaf peeping. The Highbrook Motel is clean, comfortable, and more than adequate for anyone traveling who doesn't want to spend a lot of money and only really uses a hotel as a place to sleep and shower. It suited our needs perfectly, and the added amenities such as free wifi, a 'grab and go' breakfast (muffins, bagels, coffee, juice, etc) made our stay even more enjoyable. With a small refrigerator in the room, we were able to keep our (locally made) wine chilled.

The proprietors were quite friendly and informative, and recommended options for dining, sight-seeing, and activities. The hotel is located only a short distance from downtown Bar Harbor, and there was a shuttle bus you could catch into town, although we had a car and opted to drive.

We left our cellphone charger in our room, and came home to Alaska to find a message on our answering machine that they found our charger and would mail it to us. We would definitely recommend the Highbrook Motel to any budget-minded traveler visiting the Bar Harbor/Acadia National Park area!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AKArmyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centereach
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here Sept. 30 - Oct. 3rd, we stayed in the front rooms facing the road and found it to be quiet and driving right up to your room very convenient. Being so close to Acadia and Bar Harbor made it very easy going back and forth, as it rained while we were there...............The room was very clean, size was perfect for the two of us, bathroom a little small, but so, so clean !! Grab and go breakfast was good, had a refrigerator in the room, so we purchased yogurt in town to add to breakfast.............all in all a good value, with a friendly
atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYAnnie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We were told the motel is on top of the hill and; therefore, we would not hear traffic noise. This was not the case. The room was light & pleasant, but offered an outdated TV & cramped bathroom. The grab & go breakfast was minimum, to say the least & the muffins were really doughy. For the price, checkout Acadia Pines Motel several miles from there. Nothing luxurious, but spacious & clean. Very nice setting among the trees & rates are much better, if cost is a consideration.

Room Tip: Would not stay here again--the appeal & charm of this motel is strictly on the exterior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaineTravelguru, General Manager at Highbrook Motel, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
“Not what we expected either”

As noted above, this guest probably did hear traffic noise because she left the front window of her room open all night. We do sit up on a hill and these windows face the road down below. If she had opened one of the back windows instead, as most other guests do, then she probably would have enjoyed the room much more.

With regard to the TV and bathroom, this guest had an opportunity to book one of our deluxe rooms for just $10.00 more. This would have provided her with a 32 inch flat screen TV, a larger bathroom with an extra vanity and dressing area outside the bath (very spacious setup), and a more secluded location further back from the main road. Basically, everything that she complained about not having would have been provided.

Our Grab & Go Breakfast is described on our website, which is where this customer booked her reservation. If she wanted something more elaborate, she should have considered this when selecting a place to stay.

This guest had booked her reservation on July 11th for a one night stay on September 19th. She contacted us three more times to alter her reservation and then, ultimately, called two days prior to arrival to cancel her reservation, stating that she was “stuck in Canada.” When we reminded her that we require a three day cancellation notice, as per her confirmation, and that she would be subject to a one night cancellation fee, she informed us that she would honor her reservation.

During her one night stay, we did not receive any complaints at all from this guest. In fact, she complimented the blueberry muffins when she came for seconds, saying that her friend really liked them and she was very pleasant at that time. However, in an unexpected turn of events, she came to the front desk to check out, slapped down a comment slip that said “Read my review on the internet,” walked to her car and drove away.

Obviously, we have been anticipating this review since then and it does not come as a surprise that she would find fault with her stay here because she was not able to cancel without a fee. If she had purchased our trip insurance, which is available through our online booking system, she could have canceled up to the day of arrival with a minimal charge.

Our staff works very hard every day to make sure that each guest’s experience is as enjoyable as possible but there are some situations that are beyond our control. In this instance, I don’t believe anything else could have been done on the part of the staff to improve this guest’s experience.

We are very confident that if you compare us with similar properties in Bar Harbor that you will find us competitively priced with respect to location, comfort, service and value. If you read through the other reviews posted over the years I feel that you will clearly see that this guest’s overall opinion is not shared by most of the people we have accommodated.

In general, if someone inquires with us and we feel that our property does not suit their needs, we will gladly refer them elsewhere. Unfortunately, in cases like this, when a guest does not share any of their needs or expectations with the staff, it is virtually impossible to insure that they find the right accommodations. I can assure you that the last thing that we want is an unhappy guest at our property.

Thank you for taking the time to read this response.

Best Regards,
Adam Bowden
General Manager
Highbrook Motel


Room Tip: Both of our buildings sit up on a hill away from the road. To insure a quiet atmosphere, we suggest closing the front windows while sleeping. They face the road and will, in fact, allow road noise to enter the room. Leaving the windows in the back of the room open at night is much more practical for allowing fresh air to enter and minimizing outside noise while sleeping. The other option is to run the fan or air conditioner, if you desire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

very nice, very clean motel room---excellent room reservation system....very helpful staff...decent free breakfast of coffee/tea/toast/blueberry muffins/oatmeal/bagels/cream cheese.....two buildings, we were in the 2nd building, very quiet...i really could not have been happier...low-key, single story, park-in-front-of-room motel, not really walking distance to town but on the free shuttle service route which runs every 30 minutes all over the park!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthierose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.7 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
1.6 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.5 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.3 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrook Motel

Property: Highbrook Motel
Address: 94 Eden St, Route 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,369 - ₹ 14,997
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbrook Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highbrook Motel rests on a 3 acre hillside, 1 mile from Downtown Bar Harbor. We are 1 mile from Acadia National Park. You can catch a free seasonal shuttle to town from the motel between 7am-10pm. All rooms are smoke-free and feature A/C, coffee makers, and Wi-Fi. All rooms have refrigerators and we offer complimentary coffee and tea all day. Our "Grab & Go" continental breakfast is also available each morning from 7am-10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Highbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Highbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing