We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Inn”
Review of Quimby House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quimby House Inn
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had five couples on motorcycles touring the Northeast and this was a two day stopover. We motorcycled in and parked them until we left (except for a quick run up to Cadillac Mountain). It was within walking distance to downtown main street and the docks and all the lobster you could eat. We stayed in the ground floor suite which was nice. There are other rooms on up to 3 floors which you have to haul up the back outside stairs which would be the one drawback about the place. Otherwise it was clean and comfortable and quite adequate for our needs.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the ground floor suite or otherwise a 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 204 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We wanted self catering accommodation near the centre of Bar Harbor and we stayed in the annex adjacent to the main inn. It was exactly what we wanted with a sitting room, full kitchen, bathroom with an amazing power shower and a good sized bedroom. The supermarket was a two minute walk away and it was only a ten minute walk into the centre of Bar Harbor. No hassel having to find a parking space in town just left the car outside our door. If we come back to Bar Harbor I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brownsWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed in the annex adjacent to the main building to get a larger area. The room included a small kitchen, one BR, and a living room area with the 2 foldout couches. Kitchen included a stove, full refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The location was great, nearby to restaurants, bike rentals, and a grocery store. The staff was friendly. Only downside was the furnishings including the couches and bedroom chair were well past their prime as were the towels and wash cloths.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LoneStartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I visited the Quimby Inn with my friends about a month ago while visiting Bar Harbor. You will find a lot of nice hotels in Bar Harbor and and the family-run Inn is in the mid-tier, however for your dollar you will not find better accommodations or service. One of the rooms in our party had a minor issue that I only found out about after we left, we reviewed the Quimby Inn here, and the hotel owners PROMPTLY addressed our concerns and offered a gift certificate for a free stay. No hotel is perfect, but the owners of the Quimby Inn understand that in a service businesses minor hiccups are excellent opportunities to demonstrate incredible customer service, and we thoroughly appreciated that and would recommend the Inn to travelers.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the 2nd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liaviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Recommended to us by a fellow Bar Harbor innkeeper, the Quimby House Inn offered adjoining rooms, one with a kitchenette, located off-street with great parking. IDEAL location near everything but not in the jam packed 4 block Main Street. The phenomenal A&B Healthfood sore is next door, offering fresh sqeezed beat, cucumber and wheatgrass juice which cleanses the weary tourist looking to enjoy relaxed, healthy Bar Harbor living. No breakfast served at the Inn but frankly the Healthfood store gave us huge selection and a great setting to prep breakfast and lunch in our room!
Quimby House Inn is across the street from the meeting point for a FANTASTIC sea kayaking guide from ACADIA PARK KAYAK TOURS who run with highly experienced guides and top of the line Northstar sea kayaks. I felt my teenagers and I were in great hands with this outfitter.
We look forward to future holidays with the terrific innkeepers at the Quimby House who provided the setting for a perfect Bar Harbor stay!

Room Tip: If traveling with teens, ask for adjoining rooms so you have two bathrooms and a kitchenette help ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeaceNow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
315 reviews
0.6 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
1.4 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.7 km away
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quimby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quimby House Inn

Address: 109 Cottage St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 6,309 - ₹ 12,358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quimby House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial-style inn within minute's walk to Bar Harbor's waterfront, restaurants, shops, and bike and kayak rentals. One mile to Acadia National Park, Cadillac Mountain, and Kebo Valley Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Quimby House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quimby House Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Bar Harbor
Quimby House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing