We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe This Way

Cafe This Way
Ranked #5 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I really enjoyed the ambiance more than anything else. But the food and coffee is well done and priced right.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Happycamper88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,279
    546
    146
    46
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious for breakfast, can't wait to go back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Yum! The best and funkiest breakfast in Bar Harbor. Everything on the menu is as homemade and locally sourced as possible, and very fresh! We can't wait to go back -- but it gets busy so get there early and/or be prepared to wait. Not a lot of parking either."

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindquik67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bar harbor star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Want an amazing experience everytime this is the place for bfast and dinner. The first thing you notice is that this place has it own unique style a theme that stays with you in every aspect. Their signature drinks are creative and refreshing. I would recommend basil lemonade or the three melons. Also extensive beer and wine selection. The food is one of the most challenging and progressive menu style in the state with dishes like lamb sirloin and fig roasted quail awesome halibut that melts sorbet that revives appetite everything is impressive. We visit bar harbor just for this experience. Breakfast is just as good go here if u are in bar harbor.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SousSlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kyraonthego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We went here for dinner our first night. The food was very inventive and we all had something different and it was very delicious. The waiter we had for the evening was really fun and very helpful since there were many things on the menu I hadn't had before or at least not in that combination. We also found it to be not as crowded as the other resuarants which was nice. Can't beat good food after a day of hiking.

Tip - (For all restaurants in Bar Harbor really) - Bar Harbor knows it is catering to the outdoorsy bunch and while many people were dressed nice at these restaurants, it perfectly acceptable to come in dressed casual. We were at least nice enough to get out of the muddy clothes of the day but I think they wouldn't have cared. So don't let the fact you didn't bring nice clothes keep you from trying out some of the great high end restaurants in Bar Harbor.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kyraonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is a local hangout with a very cool environment and relaxed, attractive decor. We ate breakfast at Cafe This Way and would definitely return again. The menu is diverse and offers something for everyone. Service was friendly and attentive. Food was great. I can see why people return for lunch and dinner -- there is a lot to offer.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank tobeycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe This Way also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Cafe This Way? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing