We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly staff”
Review of Galyn's

Galyn's
Ranked #12 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The staff at this place went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and were very attentive. There wasn't much open in Bar Harbor the week we were there; otherwise we probably wouldn't have spent the money we did on our lunch there. It was very good food, but a bit pricey.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thewanderer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    902
    547
    231
    67
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Thanks Galyns!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Looking forward to having another Fried Fish Sandwich in August!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janeb865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
203 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Located near the pier on the left handside. High quality and reasonable prices.”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Excellent seafood. great saladsand pastas and wonderful desseerts. very busy in the summer.wise to make a reservation. One of Bar Harbor'sbest restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank baklavaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
471 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice and Easy”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stopped in for a light lunch. My wife had a Fried Haddock Sandwich sans bread and a glass of wine. I had the Chef's salad which was crisp and refreshing. The only issue was the turkey and ham were thinly sliced, then rolled and sliced again, although not a concern for this time of year. The service was attentive and the fare reasonably priced for the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bstdflsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Just Excellent!!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stopped in on a beautiful spring afternoon for a late lunch. Temps were over 80° so we were seated on their covered porch with a beautiful view of the town pier and enjoyed the scenery with our food. We started off with a great lobster pastry appetizer for two. lobster meat was sweet and plentiful sauce was not too spicy and the pastry was perfectl! For my entrée I had a piece of quiche, it was spinach mushroom and feta. Perfect also. my husband had the cheeseburger with caramelized onions and it was cooked to medium perfection! For dessert we shared a cream Brulé. Very good. Restaurant had a nice wine List with offerings by glass, carafe or bottle. I had the Coppolla. Chard Husband had a Stella beer. Will definitely be back here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luvtravelingthrulife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galyn's also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Galyn's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing