We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered”
Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Street Hotel
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2017

I know that there is a labor shortage on the island but West Street manages to have highly skilled people working very hard to please from the valets to the mangers we were pampered and spoiled with amenities and friendly smiles.
I was greeted with good mornings and smiles by housekeeping every day and any request was granted.
When labor is short, management has to step up and the management TEAM at West Street steps up! Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: View of Harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Lee S,

On behalf of the entire staff here at the Harborside Hotel & Marina I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with other travelers.

It is always a pleasure to hear guests enjoying the property as well as our location, we take pride in providing great amenities and accommodations in the heart of Downtown Bar Harbor.

Your kind words are much appreciated, our staff works very hard to ensure service is always top notch, and I am so happy to hear that this is exactly the service you received!
Thank you so much for your kind words! We hope to welcome you back to property!

With Hospitality,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

We loved this hotel during our recent stay in Bar Harbor. The hotel is literally in the perfect location! We walked everywhere! Restaurants, shopping, convinces everywhere. Also an extremely short drive to Acadia National Park. The hotel itself was beautiful. The room was spacious, clean, beautiful and had a great view! The bed was SO comfortable. We were pleasently surprised to find that on every floor there was a fully stocked "pantry" with cold water bottles, coffee, fresh fruit, cookies at night, etc. It was such a luxury to have that. The lobby was cozy and decorated beautifully. We would gladly stay again at this hotel for our next visit to Bar Harbor! Our only disappointment was the horrible valet service. They stood and watched us unload our 4 bags from the car. Then when we checked out, gave the valet a tip, he went inside and we were left to load our car with our luggage ourselves and didn't offer to help. It was actually comical how terrible it was, when paying $400+ a night for a room. I would chalk it up to a young, un-trained guy on staff. Not a proper reflection of how great the hotel is. Otherwise, all other interactions with staff were above par.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcadiaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear ArcadiaAZ,

I would like to thank you for providing a fair review of your recent time in Bar Harbor.

In your review you have provided excellent constructive feedback for our property and we will certainly be addressing the issue mentioned, as we continuously try to improve the guest experience!

Our staff looks forward to another opportunity to welcome you back and show you a true Maine Hospitality experience!

With Hospitality,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel, as new and nicely furnished with great coffee/tea/beverage/fresh fruit stations on every floor, free laundry a bonus.
They have an Irish pub/restaurant which is the hotels only restaurant and the only thing which reduced my rating was the breakfast service we experienced, too slow

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank JSNMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear JSNMitchell,

I would like thank you for taking the time to provide such a great review regarding your recent stay at the Harborside. Your review is direct and to the point, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, the location, and the view.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Harborside!

Warm Regards,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

This was our 6th visit to this hotel. We had actually booked across the street at the Harborside for this trip, and cancelled our reservation in favor of returning to West Street after reading so many terrible reviews on the housekeeping at Harborside (they are sister properties and share amenities). While there are many good things, unfortunately much has gone downhill - seemingly much from lack of staff (though there were help wanted signs everywhere on the island this year - not sure if it was end of season, or lack of available labor overall).

So, the good (and for reference, here is my previous glowing review from a few years ago https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60709-d3314224-r295755195-West_Street_Hotel-Bar_Harbor_Mount_Desert_Island_Maine.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT):

Great location in the heart of Bar Harbor - walking distance to everything. Great amenities - several pools (Bar Harbor Club across the street as well as rooftop pool), good fitness room complete with complimentary ear buds. Bike storage room. And free PANTRIES on each floor (we love these - coffee, water bottles, cookies, fruit, bags of ice - readily available and well stocked). On site restaurant.

The not so good:

Housekeeping - our room was cleaned late in the day. .We stayed four nights and the same plate and two wine glasses were left outside of a guest room on the first floor and never picked up (four days?). Dirty dishes often in the hall. Upon arrival, we found several hairs on the duvet and in the bathroom. It just didn't feel clean.

Dogs - there are dogs freaking everywhere. They don't limit in which rooms, or a certain floor. We had dogs on both sides of us barking late at night and at $400 plus a night it was irritating. They should be limited to a section of the hotel. And people let them pee all over the sidewalks and parking lot. Not to mention - housekeeping opened up the room next to us and an unattended dog escaped flying down the hallway. Gave her quite a fright.

General attitude - we had always recognized staff from our previous visits (particularly a bellman who was always friendly and kind who was not there). They seemed harried and tired. Bellman watched us unload the car and never even made a move to offer any assistance. We rarely saw any staff during our visit and they weren't super friendly when we did.

We would not have come back 6 times if there weren't some very good things about this hotel - but it's gone a bit downhill. Just seems a bit tired of late.

Room Tip: Try for a harborview room. Good compromise between non view (Parking lot) and ocean view ($$$).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windward77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear windward77,

I truly apologize if your experience at the West Street Hotel was unfortunate. Our goal at the West Street Hotel is to provide the highest quality and equitable service throughout all aspects of our resort. We regret that you felt we fell short in this endeavor. Guest satisfaction is the backbone of our resort and is the key to our success.

We were pleased hear that you enjoyed our ocean side setting. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. Comments such as yours are vital to our continued success.

With Warm Hospitality,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

My fella and I have traveled the world, and this hotel is impressive for the cost and star rating. We booked the two-room suite (#438) and had amazing views of the harbor and ocean from both bedrooms, the living room, and the THREE balconies. We loved having two separate bathrooms, and it was nice having a second bedroom when he got sick. The room was able to be separated into a bedroom/bathroom on either end with a living room in the middle.

Room amenities - shampoo, conditioner, lotion, bath gel, shower cap, safe, flat screen TVs, clocks with USB ports, hair dryer

Hotel amenities - Hershey kisses in the lobby (start with the important stuff first!), umbrellas for borrowing, business center with printers, Infiniti pool on the top floor, incredibly easy to walk everywhere in downtown Bar Harbor, great views of the water, private parking lot, Paddy's Irish Restaurant & Bar connected to the hotel, free wi-fi, washer/dryer on each floor

Super cool - each floor has a pantry with a Keurig (coffee, decaf, hot chocolate, and tea K Cups), bottles of water, fruit in the morning, cookies in the evening... and it's all free!

Room Tip: Upgrade and get a room with a view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vandelay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Vandelay37,

While most of us here do think the West Street Hotel is one of the most beautiful places in the United States, it makes us smile when our guests also recognize how special our property is. Thank you for your review and sharing with us how much you enjoyed your stay.

A large part of why guests feel this way is due to the hard work and dedication of our staff to meet and then exceed your expectations. Mother Nature also helps us out with beautiful views and amazing sunsets while we work to offer top notch facilities such as The Bar Harbor Club, Paddy's, and the beautiful rooftop pool.

With Warm Hospitality,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
1.7 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,199 reviews
0.6 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
1.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Address: 50 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1858
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 17,932 - ₹ 33,504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing