We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Staff is friendly and helpful. Slightly dated with some updates, but comfortable and I can tell they have made improvements to cater to a new generation of travelers. If you're in Bar Harbor for hiking and spending most of your day outside, this is a good place to stay. Free breakfast is well intentioned and staff is very polite and picked up my dirty dishes. I stay occasionally for overnight work travels.

Room Tip: Pretty ocean views and sunrise
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel was average. Comfortable rooms and a normal continental breakfast. Very helpful staff and well maintained grounds. Small restaurant for dining with good food. Outside of busy downtown area but quick access to town.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Buckle up. Many aspects to discuss in this review.
Value as compared to other available options during our stay was off the chart. In some cases as much as half.

We were fortunate to get a waterfront room with walkout patio. Spectacular view. But the layout and design of the disjointed buildings on the property offered a little challenge to find our room and they didn’t even have a property map. Parking for this building was limited to about 6 spaces for about a dozen rooms. I could see how parking could be a nightmare on a fully booked stay. There are plenty of on site parking, they will just be a little further from your room.

The room was your typical aging hotel but that kind of adds to the “feel” of timeless vacations. After all, this is not a place to spend your time in a hotel room. There are so many beautiful outdoor vistas and numerous activities to keep you busy from well before sunrise atop Cadillac Mtn. to well after dark dining and shopping in town.

But where it failed in one of the most critical aspects of our stay, this was by far the most uncomfortable bed I’ve ever slept in. It was noted at checkout and we didn’t request restitution as we felt the view and cost outweighed the discomfort. Perhaps this was one room or building that hasn’t had an upgrade yet. Maybe it just wasn’t in our comfort zone but you may be tired enough after your daily excursions that you don’t even notice.

For the value we would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

While the hotel was nice, I have stayed in nicer hotels for less money. The view from the room/balcony was great but there was no room service, breakfast was buffet and the restaurant was not open for lunch.

The room/facilities were clean and all of the staff were very polite.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanG2919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Just stayed there for the weekend and can't say anything bad about this property. Fantastic location about a 5 min drive from Bar Harbor. The staff were all exceptionally friendly, the room was spacious and clean and we lucked out by getting an oceanside room. It's not a 5 star resort with all the bells and whistles, but if you're looking for a really nice property with convenient access to town and Acadia National Park, you really can't go wrong here. I'd stay here again for sure. One suggestion. If you see the white chocolate chip/macadamia nut cookies by the front desk, take 2. Or three if nobody is looking!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkeye1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
2.2 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
2 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
1.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
1.6 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 8,576 - ₹ 17,280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing