We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“beautiful,friendly and all you will need!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
maryville tennessee(big orange country)
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“beautiful,friendly and all you will need!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

my first trip to maine(and no i did not see a moose).we stayed at the atlantic oceanside room 5306, it was a gorgeous room with a ocean view,i booked the special for 2 days and paid extra for 2 more, the oceanside is a property with construction but this does not interfere with your stay at all, the only i mention this is in the future it will be a even better place and it is great now, the room was nice, the free breakfast was good not great,the oceanside has a free bus which comes by every 30 minutes till 3 and 15 afterward, you can go to any where on my desert island,i look so forward to my next vacation in maine, i drove 2900 miles from tennessee to maine and back but it was well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hydebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    411
    109
    52
    24
See reviews for
381
479
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WAUWATOSA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

I booked two rooms at this hotel last winter for mine and my sister's families. The website lists both an indoor and outdoor pool and a private beach. I picked the hotel becasue I have two teenage daughters who are more into beaches and pools than hiking/kayaking. I could have overlooked the dingy rooms in desperate need of an update if the hotel had either a usable beach, or an outdoor pool. We ended up moving to the Holiday Inn next door which was far nicer and $100/night cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dafwcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acainn, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
The Atlantic Oceanside Hotel & Conference Center has been going through a great deal of construction so we may give our guests a better product. We expected to have finished with the construction earlier but our winter here prevented much of the work from being done in a timely manner.

We set in place a procedure to tell every guest that has placed a reservation that the outside pool is not available at this time. We have also sent out email blasts advising of this temporary change. Our Front Desk personnel have offered each guest the use of a sister properties outside pool directly across the street, I am sorry that you did not take advantage of that. We also offered to help you to find a more suitable lodging.

We have diligently worked to supply our guests with a good experience and are sorry that you did not have one with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Our daughter’s rehearsal dinner, wedding ceremony and reception were held at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Conference Center in Bar Harbor, Maine (located directly on Frenchman Bay with outstanding water views). A truly professional sales staff began the coordination of this momentous event many months prior to the “magical day”. Attention to each and every detail was surpassed only by the delightful, completely thorough, and timely communications of both the director of sales and events coordinator. Ensuring her team exceeded our daughter’s desires and expectation for the perfect wedding and reception was the order of the day for the General Manager as she ensured her staff worked in concert with the bride-to-be and mother of the bride from planning to execution.
The culinary staff, headed by the executive chef provided amazing selections for both the rehearsal dinner and the reception. The chef’s staff attended to each detail of a fabulous rehearsal dinner and greatly exceeded all expectations during the reception with a glorious presentation of the most delicious hors d’ oeuvres, platters of fabulous, succulent seafood including lobster, jumbo shrimp and smoked mussels, vegetables and fruits, hot Swedish meatballs and pasta salads. Carving stations of top round of roast beef and oven roasted turkey were a delightful addition to the many other offerings.
The events coordinator ensured all manner of assistance as we “set-up” the reception rooms, the ceremony “site” and other accommodations for the wedding. Any request from simple to the most arduous, was handled with enthusiasm and professional hospitality. The reception rooms were climate controlled and the audio visual accessibility was excellent (our daughter had prepared a power point presentation to run continuously throughout the reception). The ceremony itself was held on the front lawn of the Willows Oceanside Mansion. We learned this grand estate building was the original structure built in 1913 for Ms. Charlotte Baker, a summer resident of Bar Harbor. This beautiful mansion was restored to its original state and offers thirteen fabulous rooms which were used to house many of the wedding guests. Some rooms are like a suite with additional “living/sitting” rooms. Each has a balcony, overlooking Frenchman Bay. Some of the guests told us the “accommodations were breathtakingly beautiful”. The top level was recently completely remodeled and is considered by some to be the “penthouse suite”. We used this room as not only our hotel room, but also the changing room for the bride and her attendants and for a couple of small gatherings. It provides a marvelous two bedroom accommodation, spacious living area with excellent furnishings and commanding water views. In addition to the beautiful furnishings already in place in the suite, we utilized two smaller “sofa” tables which were used to host a private “cocktail and desert reception” as we introduced the bride and groom-to-be. One of the suites just above the lawn where the ceremony was held had a perfectly positioned balcony for the musicians to play throughout the procession(s), ceremony and recession. There are lovely structured stone walls for beautiful photographs of the wedding party and guests.
The entire hotel staff seemed to be at our beck and call for any and all requests. We could not have asked for a more perfect location, amazingly hospitable staff and thankfully, very cooperative weather.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

My wife and I picked a hotel in Bar Harbor from the internet, and from looking at the pictures and description combined with the fact that it was directly on the water we thought this would be a nice, classy hotel. When we arrived we were met with extreme dissapointment, I couldn't help shake the feeling that we were staying in glorified low income housing and I was actually looking foward to going back to my cabin. The first place they tried to put us was on the first floor next to the maintence room in a small building near the water, there was a large group of people openly drinking and letting their dogs run around directly in front of our room. The next place they put us was in the main building, which was nicer but still not nearly what we expected, no real hallways, it was all open with ripped indoor/outdoor carpeting, stained vinyl siding, etc. The room did not have AC, and the patios were seperated by a small, flimsy peice of blue vinyl. Even though they claim to have a lounge on site, they do not serve food or drinks, and their 'local area guides' leave much to be desired. We went downstairs one morning to try the breakfast buffet to find a line of people out the door trying to fit into a small cafeteria type room, needless to say we didn't bother. We ended up spending the last night of our trip in the "real" hotel next door, the bar harbor regency, not much more price wise, but an extremely nice hotel, room service, AC, real hallways, beautiful landscaping well worth it and much nicer than the oceanside.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDAhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Basic accommodations, good for budget focused family not interested in frills or quiet. We had been told the hotel was one of the nicest & most romantic in town (I sure hope there are nicer options) with lovely balcony overlooking harbor. Well, the ocean view is limited to a thin beach of rocks and a ferry pier, and the stretch of grass where guests walk their dogs.
Room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with nice fridge and extra sink, and very nice toiletries, good heat and ventilation. Light sleepers should bring sleep mask and ear plugs – the property is VERY well lit, so you cannot leave any curtains open, and the light comes in window on front door (no curtain). No danger of sleeping late, as the morning light intrudes REALLY early, waking the people upstairs who were apparently training for a marathon by running laps in their room. I wish the builders had reallocated the cost of granite sinks to soundproofing between floors. We also heard too many conversations of kids playing, nature tour, and guests taking photos of themselves with the sea.
Parking can be a challenge if you get back late when the hotel is busy. A good choice for a family that is accustomed to noise.

Room Tip: book early to get a more quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysPacked2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.9 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
2.2 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#29 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.7 km away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,263 - ₹ 18,458
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing