We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View, large rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wonder View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wonder View Inn
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great View, large rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

The view of Frenchman's Bay was great, it was fun to watch the large cruise liners come and go, plus enjoyed a wonderful moon rising several nights as well as great sunrises.

We especially enjoyed the oversized rooms and the fact that there were washing machines and dryers available for the guests since we stayed a little over a week.

Only complaint: It would be nice if they would put microwaves in the rooms or have them available on request. There was a small refrigerator that we appreciated.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a good view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    128
    80
    53
    22
See reviews for
100
167
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
harrisburg pa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Former Mary Roberts Rinehart Estate. Rooms are clean and tried to update them. Rooms billed as ocean view is a stretch if you are on the same level as the office. Foliage pretty much blocks the view. First trip into the bathroom resulted in water spraying our feet. Trap under bathroom sink was very loose. Reported to desk and maintenance arrived quickly and repaired it while we went to dinner. Thought from on line research we would get breakfast with room, but this was not the case. Got a coupon for 10% off dinner which we didn't use. Access to indoor pool at sister resort. Bed was comfortable and bath spacious as is room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed in the Courtyard building for two nights in mid-September 2011. We're not sure if other buildings are nicer inside; we can only comment on our experience in the room we stayed in.

There is good in everything, so here are the positives:
The view was nice, even from the Courtyard building room we stayed in which I believe is the lowest set of buildings on this hillside property. We stopped to watch a doe and fawn feeding on the lawn each tiime we left or entered the driveway which was very nice to see. The outdoor pool was no longer being heated, so we were invited to use the indoor pool at the Blue Nose resort which was just a short walk or drive next door. We did take advantage of that and had a really nice evening with the pool and hot-tub all to ourselves. The little interaction with the staff that we had was pleasant and it was nice to be able to crank open the windows to sleep with some fresh air...

Now, for the negatives:
Unless you can coordinate shower time with the entire building, plan on moments of scorching water, followed by ice-water a moment later. The bathroom was tiny and old and even a fresh coat of paint cannot disguise that. We were told that there was new carpet in our room which was true, but it did not appear that anything else had been updated since
Eisenhower was in office, including the mattress!

We feel that less budget spent on the lawn, landscaping and huge bronze moose at the driveway entrance, and more funds dedicated to room upgrades would be in the best interest of this property. Paying shoulder season rates was disappointing enough. We can't imagine paying summer rates to stay here.

Room Tip: Perhaps a buidling besides the Courtyard building would provide a better experience overall
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cjapaige61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at the very top of the tiered hill and the view was excellent. The room we had was huge. The style is like strip motel units on different levels of the hill. It seems that Bar Harbor has a lot strip motels.

It was a little bit of walk be we did walk to downtown Bar Harbor. There is a free shuttle service that comes on the Wonder View property to take you downtown.

In my opinion it was very pricey for what you got.

if you are going to bring you pet, then this is the place to go because we saw a lot of people with pets.

I am giving it an average rating because I usually stay at Hiltons and Marriotts and the property is not quite up to those standards.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarekio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Older property, but clean and well maintained. Houskeeping staff was excellent. Able to park right by our door and walk across parking lot to their wonderful restuarant. Full made to order breakfast was included. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gatorday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBluenoseInn, Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in May and had the opportunity to experience The Looking Glass Restaurant as well. We did include breakfast in the room rate this May but that is not always the case-it's a special we run occasionally. We appreciate you taking the time to share your visit on TripAdvisor and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.0 km away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#36 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
0.3 km away
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.7 km away
Bar Harbor Motel
Bar Harbor Motel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonder View Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonder View Inn

Property: Wonder View Inn
Address: 50 Eden St, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1446
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,103 - ₹ 18,735
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wonder View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premiere locations in the area. Only a minute from downtown Bar Harbor, and Acadia National Park. Superb dining: Enjoy the famous, eight sided, glass walled, Looking Glass Restaurant, and enjoy the spectacular panorama that only the Wonder View’s unique location can provide. Comfortable rooms: Most balconies offer views of Frenchman’s Bay and the surrounding islands. Step out to our pool or stroll our beautifully manicured grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wonder View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonder View Hotel Bar Harbor
Wonder View Inn And Suites
Wonder View Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing