We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check cancelation and booking policy.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Holbrook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holbrook House
Ranked #11 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Check cancelation and booking policy.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Was scheduled to stay at the Holbrook house, except that hurricane Irene derailed my travel plans. Attempted to negotiate with the proprietors for a refund due to the fact that I was unable to travel, to no avail, even if there was a state of emergency for travel.

This b&b has the most stringent booking policy, never before have I seen that you need to book 2rooms in a row. Booked initially a cheaper room, then was bumped to a more expensive room.

Avoid this place, there are other, nicer places in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holbrookinnkeeper, Owner at Holbrook House, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
We are sorry that you were not able to make it to Bar Harbor for your scheduled vacation. We were very fortunate in Bar Harbor and in all of Maine for that matter to be spared the devastating impact that Irene had in other areas of the Country. Our hearts and prayers go out to those in New Hampshire that are still dealing with the aftermath of Irene.
As we are a small seasonal inn we do require a two-night reservation. We try to make exceptions to accommodate one night requests where and when we can as we did in your case.
You did agree at the time of booking to our cancellation policies, that are pretty much standard for bed and breakfasts in Bar Harbor.
It is obvious that you are not happy with our cancellation policies when they were applied to you.
We made an exception in this case due to Irene and issued you a gift certificate since we were unable to rebook your room.
We encourage all of our guest and those considering staying in our home to review our policies prior to booking with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
138
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

The food and service at Holbrook House are simply unsurpassed. Michelle and Eric are the most accommodating -- and generous! -- hosts anyone could want. Thanks, again, for a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is one of the best places to stay in Bar Harbor. It is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown restaruants and attractions as well as easy access to Acadia National Park.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts can only be classified in the award winning category. The innkeepers, Eric and Michelle are very friendly and helpful.

We had our bicycles and were able to travel around the island and visit all the breathtaking sites in Acadia National Park. It is a great place for cycling and hiking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SILVERDALE
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We were actually renting a house about 3 hours away and decided on a whim to see if we could get a room so we could spend another day in the area. Since it was Labor Day weekend most places were full for the weekend but we lucked out that there was one night available on Thursday night. Michelle was so helpful in finding a store to buy some necessities and a wonderful restaurant recommendation. The house was full of great touches and not too froo froo or grandma-ish. The bed was comfortable although a little squeaky with great bedding. The shower was wonderful. The special chocolate blueberries and afternoon scones and cookies were great. The breakfast was beyond words. Everything was delicious. No disappointments at all. The surrounding flowers and lawn were beautiful and well cared for. It's a short walk to everything. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolarWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bechtelsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Holbrook House B&B for our honeymoon August 8-15, 2011. We had the best stay ever! This was the first time either one of us had stayed in a B&B, and we were pampered to the max! Every morning we woke up to the smells of gourmet breakfast being prepared, and could hardly wait to consume the feast! Eric was very informative for great places to eat dinner and suggetsed some great off the map spots to dine on delicious lobster. My husband and I cannot wait to come back to the Holbrook House!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmkulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.4 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.8 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 km away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 31 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
8.8 km away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House

Property: Holbrook House
Address: 74 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1323
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,769 - ₹ 13,549
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holbrook House is a ten room, three suite B&B built in 1876, located in the historic district within walking distance of downtown Bar Harbor. All guest rooms have a private bath and a/c; some feature a fireplace or private porch. Each morning we include a home cooked breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade treats. We look forward to your stay with us as you explore beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holbrook House Hotel Bar Harbor
Holbrook House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing