We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hosts, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hosts, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I selected Aysgarth Station for our two nights in Bar Harbor in July based on reviews on this site, and I was glad I had done so. The B&B offers, as other reviewers have said, a welcome and rare combination of quiet location, convenience and proximity to downtown, and comfortable, attractive accommodations at prices that are very affordable, especially for Bar Harbor. Perhaps its most distinctive feature is the deep and broad knowledge of the area that the hosts have and readily share. The maps, books, and other materials that you'll find throughout the common areas will provide you with first-rate information, and the hosts will point you to just the right guide to answer your specific questions and address your particular interests. They are also terrific cooks!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panhvtinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    14
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
168
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Aysgarth Station is located in a quiet street in the centre of town and walking distance to everything..cafes,waterfront,park etc. Jane is so very warm,welcoming and helpful...she cooks up a storm for a 5 star breakfast, 2 courses plus!! Our room was spacious,spotlessly clean and top quality linens and bed...could not fault anything.In a town where accomodation can be quite expensive Aysgarth Station is excellent value and I would highly recommend staying there.If you have an allergy to cats it is not the place for you, they do not come into your room at all but do wander downstairs and quickly win you over...even if you are not a cat person! Jane is full of information on the area and also provided us with a descriptive CD to play in the car, of the sites throughout Acadia National Park Brillaint warm hospitality .Missy Australia.

Room Tip: Spacious Room was on the first floor with a huge bathroom, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We chose Aysgarth Station for our Memorial Day weekend accommodations because it had great reviews, a downtown location, and had a room available for under $120/night.  We were not disappointed.  The entire inn was cozy and comfortable.  We stayed in the Whitby room,  small but clean with a nicely tiled bathroom and shower.  The location was perfect-- on a very quiet street, but still within comfortable walking distance to Bar Harbor's shops and restaurants.  Also, the street that the inn is located on connects directly to the Park Loop Road, allowing easy access for cycling or driving. The innkeepers, Steve and Jane, were easy to talk to and full of ideas for activities and restaurants.  Breakfast was delicious and filling-- a hot entree, fruit, more baked goods than you'd ever need, and nice strong coffee.  Speaking of coffee, they even had it ready in time for our sunrise hike up Cadillac Mountain one morning!  We will definitely consider returning to Aysgarth Station on our next trip to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumansburg, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

The moment Jane opened the door and showed me to my room, the Chadsworth, I knew I had made the right decision. The bath was beyond excellent, the food was amazing and I felt right at home lounging about in the reading room with two cats on my lap (and I'm a dog person!). I had been camping in January for about a week, so naturally I couldn't help but enjoy life's luxuries. Aysgarth Station was warm, friendly, comfortable, luxurious, clean, organized and well worth staying at if you make your way into Bar Harbor, or even Maine for that matter.

Room Tip: Biggest bath and room - the Chadsworth. All the other rooms are wonderful as well. You really can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackFrostIthacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

This gem of a BandB is one of the precious few open all year in Bar Harbor. A bit of the English countryside, the inn has warmth, history and truly fantastic breakfast (my fave). I travel to Mt. Desert Island once a month in the winter and I always stay at Aysgarth Station. The innkeepers are warm and friendly, they will meet your needs and are glad to see you return. The accommodations are simple, inviting and scrupulously clean. While there is no tv in the room (why I choose A. Station), there is wireless access. If you're visiting Bar Harbor during the electric days of summer, Aysgarth Station will be a quiet, restful retreat on a side street. If you're game for a winter experience Downeast, then plan to stay several nights. You'll be all cozy, cookied up and you'll be able to see the mist rise off the Atlantic just a block away.

Room Tip: I stay in Whitby, the smallest room, but it would work for a couple as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverGuy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.5 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
0.4 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.3 km away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#6 of 31 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
8.8 km away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast

Property: Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast
Address: 20 Roberts Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1820 (Formerly Hatfield Inn Bed And Breakfast)
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,366 - ₹ 8,720
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast offers year round accommodations on Mt. Desert Island. Our Bed and Breakfast extends New England hospitality and quiet comfort in a uniquely casual atmosphere. The Inn is situated in downtown Bar Harbor....And you are only a short stroll to the harbor, many distinctive shops, an abundance of eateries and the Shore Path ocean-front walk. You are only minutes away from Acadia National Park. 125+ During Summer, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aysgarth Station Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing