We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't Recommend”

The Yankee Lady Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Yankee Lady Inn
Ranked #30 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
St. Louis
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wouldn't Recommend”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Our room had hairs in the shower when we arrived. That is just nasty. If you are staying in the rose room, the shower is extremely tight. You couldn't hardly move in it without banging some part of your body on the wall. The room is worn and outdated. The host was nice, and the breakfast was just o.k. The location is good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed at the Yankee Lady Inn and found the host to be a wonderfully friendly lady. She prepared a nice simple breakfast each morning with a two hour eating window. This was good if you didn't want to be down at 7am you could come up until 9am.

The room we stayed in was a decent size with a nice queen size bed. The bed was made and the towels changed daily for us. There were lots of windows which was great because you could catch a nice breeze.

The complaints we had were that the air conditioner shut off if there was a little bit of rain or the temperature changed. Once it shut off it was pretty much off until the next day. It was kind of a drag because if it went off in the middle of the night you'd wake up sweating and would have to go open a window.

The bathroom also was not very clean. When I say clean I mean there were many hairs left around the sink and in the shower and on the shower curtain. I understand that sometimes one or two may be overlooked but we found probably close to 6 or 7. That is pretty gross when you think about it.

All in all it was alright as the location was great...5 minute walk to town and good food. If the room was a bit cleaner I would have no reservations about recommending it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjmm626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, NJ
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Our group of 5 friends stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful experience at the Yankee Lady. June is an excellent, friendly hostess and her rooms are comfortable and extremely clean. This is a non-pretentious, well located B&B...breakfasts are simple but scrumptious. We would definiely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugar38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Yankee Lady is in a great location for Bar Harbor -- right in town and only a block or two walk from eateries, the buses and waterfront. If the primary reason for your trip to Bar Harbor is to visit Acadia National Park, the Yankee Lady Inn is a great choice. June, our hostess, was gracious and informative -- a quintessential "Maine-ian." Her breakfasts sent us off ready for each day. We had blueberry pancakes the first morning and eggs the second. Both breakfasts included tea, toast and juice. She also has a water cooler where you can refill your bottle. Since we were out most of the day, the Green Room was economical and sufficient -- absolutely nothing to complain about. We were very happy with it. The Inn has a common area downstairs which we didn't use, but other guests did to watch TV. There are only a couple of rooms so breakfast chats were nice and intimate. We also got great tips from our fellow lodgers: 1) Use the bus system in the park -- good tip! We didn't have to fuss with parking in the park and the buses came by quite often. We would however, drive to the Visitor's Center and park next time so we could head into town more quickly when we finished. (June has parking for her guests in her driveway and in front of the B&B). 2) Do the hike from Sand Beach to Otter Point and bring your lunch. There's a great cafe near the Yankee Lady Inn called Morning Glory where we got our sandwiches. 3) Get up early and watch the sunrise from Cadillac Mountain. We got up at about 4:45 am (note that the stairs creak!) and drove to the summit of Cadillac. (Many others were on the road, too, so don't be surprised if parking might be difficult when you get to the top.) Needless to say, it was gorgeous. In spite of the number of people, there seemed to be an understanding in keeping the serenity of the morning -- no loud talking, bursts of laughter or intrusions into quiet moments. We also really enjoyed our hike to Acadia Mountain (closer to Southwest Harbor).

In the evening, we walked around Bar Harbor and despite the very touristy feel, it maintains a quaint atmosphere. We decided to go to the movie theater one evening and were surprised to learn that we could save seats by placing a paper plate in front, leave the theater to go home and change, and come back knowing our seats were still there! The theater served pizza and wine and beer so it was more of a dinner theater experience. They even had an intermission! We really loved Bar Harbor and can't wait to come back again. The Yankee Lady was a great place for our stay. Thanks, June!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANL8135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The Yankee Lady Inn is located within easy walking distance to downtown and lots of restaurants. The rooms are very clean and comfy. The breakfasts were great with something different every morning. Hostess is very informative and can answer almost any question about the area. Visiting with the other guests at breakfast is always a treat.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DominickJavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 km away
The Central House
The Central House
#31 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 km away
Anne's White Columns Inn
Anne's White Columns Inn
#27 of 30 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 km away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 30 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#12 of 30 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.3 km away
Mount Desert Street Motel
Mount Desert Street Motel
#24 of 30 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 km away
The Elmhurst Inn
The Elmhurst Inn
#21 of 30 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yankee Lady Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yankee Lady Inn

Property: The Yankee Lady Inn
Address: 18 Roberts Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
The Yankee Lady Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing