We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveller rating
350
291
52
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
291
52
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast great location in town within walking distance mdi marathon room was clean shops and restaurants stay there again acadia national park can't beat the location bagels great place to stay hard boiled eggs separate building village green nice pool park your car
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 702 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Loved being right down town. Walked to everything, left car in parking lot except for trips to Acadia National Park, a short drive away. Rooms very comfortable and clean, great pricing. Continental breakfast provided as well.

Room Tip: Further away from street noise, but really not bad
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank GaryK974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTM80, General Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear GaryK974,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our great downtown location, and that you found your room comfortable and clean, and of a good value. Our basic continental breakfast is enough to get you started for the day, and we always have an endless supply of good, strong coffee. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again in the future should your travels bring you back to Bar Harbor.

Warm regards,
Caitlin Meredith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Because we read reviews that were glowing and stated that this motel is NOT a typical older model, we stayed here. Unfortunately it is indeed a typical older motel. The Good: The price was fair, the room was clean, and the location was excellent. The Not So Good: The room was very small, the furnishings were old and in general, we couldn't wait to check out. It's a decent motel but we wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Kendra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTM80, General Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our great downtown location and the cleanliness of your room. It sounds like you may have stayed in one of economy rooms that has not yet been renovated. Some of our rooms already received renovations last winter, and many more will be receiving renovations this winter which will include all new furnishings, wall coverings, carpeting, and expanded bathrooms. We do hope you'll give us another try should you decide to return to Bar Harbor. Always book direct by calling and be sure to request one of our renovated rooms over the phone.

Warm regards,
Caitlin Meredith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Stayed here for 2 days on our tour of New England, a great base to explore the town and the Arcadia National Park, being right in the middle of the shop/restaurant area and a few minutes walk to the front where Oli’s Trolleys depart for the park.
I emailed in advance to ask for a quiet room, and very pleased with the one provided upstairs near the end of the block, away from any road & town noise. The room was very good for the price, the only negative being a gap at the top of the curtain letting the light in all night.
Breakfast was also very good, with a good selection of breads, bagels, fresh fruit, yoghurts, juices & boiled eggs served in a separate breakfast building just across the parking lot from reception, and kept very clean & topped up by a member of staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the road or ice machines
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DorkingRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTM80, General Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear DorkingRanger,

Thank you for this nice review. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I'm glad that we were able to accommodate your request for a quiet room. We are excited to share that most of our rooms will be receiving new window treatments as part of our winter renovations this year, and we will be adding valances and sheers to many rooms, in order to provide added privacy and blackout capabilities. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our light fare continental breakfast, which offers a variety of pastries, breads, cereals, yogurts, fruit, and plenty of fresh brewed hot New England coffee. Thank you again for the review, and we hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Bar Harbor in the future.

Warm regards,
Caitlin Meredith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

The Villager is right on Main St. in the center of town, within easy walking distance to many restaurants, shops, and the waterfront . Even so, it was surprisingly quiet at night. The room was well equipped, clean, and comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly. Breakfast was good. The price was right. Just what we wanted for a place to stay in Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: There was some traffic noise pretty early in the morning. If that bothers you, ask for a room farther in.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MoxieGore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTM80, General Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear MoxieGore,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our location to be both convenient to town, yet quiet at night. We are also glad that you found your room comfortable and clean, and our staff friendly. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Caitlin Meredith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at this establishment. Very convenient to Acadia National Park. Also, location was within walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Room was clean and very comfortable. Would recommend this establishment.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews