We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - Convenient to Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Villager from August 10 thru 12. Great little place to stay. Friendly staff, clean rooms, convenient to town and buses. Nothing fancy but that was ok with us. Was nice having a refrigerator. Could not get internet to work on laptop but did go to the office and get them to print our boarding passes. My iphone worked fine "AT&T service".

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

580 - 584 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed for three nights and never moved our car. Walked to EVERY
THING!!!

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi, make sure you mention it to the staff when you reserve your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LSBG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

although this wasn't the most up to date in terms of decorations, etc. the cleanliness and the location made up for it. it's within walking distance of everything Bar Harbor, the rooms were clean and comfortable. I would recommend staying here if you're looking for a great location and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: we asked for a room on the first floor because we had a motorcycle and my husband likes to be close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I am the last guest to arrive for the night and upon check-in, clerk confirms that I'm booked for one night. No, it was two. She let me go back out to my car to find my reservation, which I hadn't printed, so I booted up my computer when she confirms that it was two nights, but they'd made a mistake and only reserved one night. They might be able to give me a king room with a rollaway bed and a cot for the second night. That mistake turned out to be a blessing for us.

There's this device sticking out of the wall in the room that has all the controls of a Kennedy administration-era air conditioner, but the only function it appeared to perform was as a white noise generator. If you like muggy, the Bar Harbor Villager Motel is for you!

They don't provide any glasses or cups, so you have to rinse your mouth from the faucet, which doesn't have an aerator.

There's no Internet. I guess they don't want you writing reviews of the place while your experience is fresh in your mind. Joke's on them--I have a smartphone that serves as an Internet connection.

The TV works, but is from a different era. At least it's in color.

The beds must be imported from a country inhabited by little people because my feet hung off the end.

The only good thing I can say about the place is that it isn't filthy. The scratchy bed linens and nearly threadbare towels were clean, and I have no sores from bedbugs this morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaitlinMeredith, Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Bar Harbor Villager Motel. We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your stay. I would like to address your concerns for clarification. In terms of the booking error, yes, that was our fault, but we are more than willing to help find a comparable or better place for our guests to stay should we accidentally overbook or make an error. I believe that I did offer to assist you in this manner, but you informed me that you had already found another place to stay. In addition, I discounted your 1 night stay $20 for the inconvenience. In terms of the air conditioner, I had my maintenance personnel check it after you checked out, and it seemed to be working just fine. While it may not be the newest and most high-tech model, it is functioning, as evidenced by the condensation you mentioned on the window. If it wasn't working, there wouldn't be any condensation on the window because the air inside would be the same temperature as the air outside. The motel was built in the 1970s, which was well after the "Kennedy era". Cups are typically provided next to the ice bucket. If there were not any cups in your room, the front desk has a supply closet and is happy to provide any room items you may need upon request. While the TVs are not flat screen, they are no more than 5-7 years old. The internet issue is something we are currently working on, but it has proven difficult to get the Wifi signal to go through the thick walls of the building to reach every room. For this reason, we only advertise WIFI in the lobby, not in the rooms. While this type of "no frills" accommodation may cost much less in other areas, downtown Bar Harbor tends to be more expensive across the board simply because of the location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

In the centre of town so great location. Very basic clean motel. Two small doubles and a small rollaway absolutely fill the room. The bathroom is small and adequate with soap shower gels and thin towels included. Breakfast is nonexistant really, its a cup of coffee and a small catering muffin in plastic at the check in desk - if 5 people are standing their elbows touch! Staff are friendly and efficient. Overall if you are just looking for a clean place to sleep in town then its a good choice. The pool is tiny and in the carpark, literally, so maybe nice for a quick unselfconscious cooloff. Great restaurant next door and perfect location for the town itself.

Room Tip: rooms on back row have no internet connection, ask for front lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IZZYIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.1 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,377 reviews
1.3 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
315 reviews
0.1 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
1.5 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#4 of 41 in Bar Harbor
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Villager Motel

Address: 207 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1745
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 8,325 - ₹ 11,252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Villager Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, affordable lodging with modern amenities conveniently located in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Villager Motel Bar Harbor
Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Villager Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing