We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convienent”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of ANCHORAGE MOTEL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convienent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

the Hotel is basic, clean fairly comfomfortable. Location is the biggest drawing factor. I would stay there again. went with my daughter to meet other women and go biking, Brought the bikes to the park for the free Bike Shuttle to Acadia. The trip was a waonderful experience. Walked to dinner that night, for a lobster roll. Fun. Affordable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydi456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    41
    57
    22
    28
See reviews for
44
67
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Wow I was there at the same time in July 2012 as an earlier reviewer and did not see anything to complain about. Fitted sheets? Really? My bed was perfectly comfortable. It was a few minutes to downtown on foot - the churches one and two minutes away had evening classical music concerts and recitals either for free or for a reasonable charge, the walk to the tidal path to Bar Island was less than 10 minutes. Park your car and forget about it. You'll only need your car to go to Acadia National Park, and the route 233 entrance is a couple of miles away on essentially the same street. The only thing I would have liked to add would be a coffee maker in the room, but when I went over to the reception at 6am (before it opened) the guy let me in, gave me coffee and a lot of friendly advice about where and when to visit during leaf peeping season. I guess I don't know what people expect from inexpensive rooms - the location of this place alone makes it worth the cost of $397 for three nights, sonsidering the prices elsewhere.

Room Tip: I wsa in room 109 and had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnyytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Not particularly clean; no fitted sheet on the beds; thin mattresses that sag; a musty smell; and a rusted-out floor heater in the bathroom. Frankly, other than a decent location, there is nothing to recommend this place. We ended up here because most every other "reasonably" priced place was full. And, what was the "reasonable" price on a Thursday night? With tax, about $150 per night. I have seen worse, but rarely.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WILawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Willow, Alaska
Level Contributor
164 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stay here every time we are in Bar Harbor. The rooms are nothing fancy but the location is great and they allow pets in certain rooms. You don't have to worry about parking or driving for that matter in Bar Harbor once you get to the motel. Everything is in walking distance. If your looking for a clean comfortable room at an affordable rate that allows pets in downtown Bar Harbor this is your place!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 week during July 4th 2012.read reviews before booking so we were aware of what to expect. The room was clean and comfortable. I always bring my own shampoo and body wash so not having any in room was OK with us. Close to everything. Hannaford supermarket around corner, 10min walk to peir,where we spent most of our time.plenty of places to eat and shop. The decore was a bit dated, but we would go back.price was excellent for the location.for the most part staff was friendly and pleasant. When we requested an extra pillow or towels we got them right away. Rooms were quiet.

Room Tip: If amenities are of concern just contact the motel before you book so there are no surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 km away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.6 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANCHORAGE MOTEL? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANCHORAGE MOTEL

Property: ANCHORAGE MOTEL
Address: 51 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,831 - ₹ 13,275
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ANCHORAGE MOTEL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your ANCHORAGE MOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Hotel Bar Harbor
ANCHORAGE MOTEL Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing