We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Relaxing”
Review of Balance Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balance Rock Inn
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Balance Rock Inn from October 6-9 after hearing from friends on how good the place is. From the moment that we arrived to the day that we left, the staff and accomidations were nothing but the best. Morning breakfast and evening cocktail hour were very appetizing. To top it off, meeting and dining with guests from other parts of the country made it pleasing each and every time. I would highly reccommend the Balance Rock Inn for anyone to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 376 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

The perfect place to celebrate a special anniversary. It reminds me of many of the hotels we stayed in in Europe. Small rooms but with a lot of character. You feel pampered from the minute you enter the Balance Rock Inn's doors. They have a lovely cocktail hour in the evening and a very nice breakfast in the morning. Off season is the time to go. It is peaceful and lends itself to some quality one-on-one time.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are smaller but much cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful and run a quite spectacular establishment. Every request was fulfilled. The room was decorated with period furniture wallpaper and a huge bed. In the room was a huge jacuzzi bath tub, there was also a shower/steam room. Parking was very convenient -right outside the inn. Everything was comfortable and safe.
There was a buffet breakfast, with plenty for the start of your day.
Overall the "The Balance Rock Inn" built in 1903 is a great experience in a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_R60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel is located in a perfect location. The street is quiet, but it is only a block or two from all the best restaurants and shopping in the area. We stayed in the Carriage House and the bathroom had an outstanding jacuzzi tub. It was very relaxing. The free amenities are seemingly endless with a gourmet breakfast, happy hour with appetizers and delicious drinks. There was always a treat available. The staff is very welcoming and inviting, an important part of a Boutique Hotel stay. Although the hotel is over a 100 years old, it is well-kept. Absolutely loved it. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Carriage House rooms are a bit cheaper than the Main House, but the bathrooms are phenomenal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We have stayed at several different hotels in Bar Harbor in the summer time, but the Balance Rock Inn by far has the best location! The Inn is directly on the water off the the shore path and very close to all the unique shops and many restaurants. From the start of our stay we were greeted by their friendly and very helpful desk staff and bellmen. We especially enjoyed the cocktail hour with snacks. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. It had a working fireplace and 2 person jacuzzi tub...we have rarely ever found this in any other hotel. The Balance Rock Inn is grand yet very charming. We will definitely be returning for our yearly visit!

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms in the west wing...they have the best window views with fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,185 reviews
0.9 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
474 reviews
0.3 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
0.7 km away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#38 of 41 in Bar Harbor
184 reviews
0.4 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Rock Inn

Address: 21 Albert Mdws, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 17,344 - ₹ 43,554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balance Rock Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance Rock Inn is one of the premier oceanfront lodging properties in Bar Harbor, ME. Set on a secluded tree-covered property with expansive views of Frenchman's Bay, this luxurious Inn's name celebrates the "balance rock," a precariously positioned boulder on the nearby ocean shore, a huge remnant from an ice age. Balance Rock's 27 rooms and suites are tastefully outfitted in harmonious colors, handsome wall coverings, handcrafted furnishings, and all the creature comforts. All rooms and suites have either a king or queen size select comfort bed, a private bath, flat screen television with DVD player, WIFI internet access, individually controlled AC and heat, and most with amazing ocean views! The Inn features a full bar and restaurant, sundeck with fire pit, and heated swimming pool...all overlooking the ocean. In addition there is a formal dining room for breakfast and dinner, a small fitness center, and ample parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balance Rock Hotel Bar Harbor
Balance Rock Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing