We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location....”
Review of Balance Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balance Rock Inn
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Reviewed 9 October 2011

..overlooking the bay. This comfortable house is beginning to look a little weary and in need of refurbishment (particularly the bathroom in our bedroom).That said, the welcome was warm and friendly,the drinks and snacks in the late afternoon/early evening were generous and the breakfasts plentiful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherryRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 388 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed 20th September. As we had selected the cheapest small room we were pleasantly suprised that it was more than adequate for one night (must be used to staying in London Hotels). Breakfast was great, even better sitting in the conservatory / bar area looking out over the sea. Beautiful location and excellent little bar with a good wine selection, with generous measures.
I would return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had a remarkable experience at Balance Rock Inn. The staff was friendly and attentive, always going the extra mile to make sure we were well taken care of. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated with many wonderful amenities. We looked forward to breakfast every morning partly because of the delicious food but mostly to see Reggie who was always quick with a greeting and a smile. This adorable Inn is also set amongst some of the most fantastic sites Maine has to offer. The mountains and shoreline are pristine and breathtaking. Our time at Balance Rock Inn was both relaxing and rejuvenating as well as sometimes exciting. We are already planning our next trip to Balance Rock Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiffanyRose313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My husband and I went to the Balance Rock to spend our anniversary and everything was absolutely exceptional. We loved our ocean view suite (room #205) it was very cozy and romantic and we loved the working fire place. The breakfast is fabulous and the staff was so accommodating, you could tell they really cared. You receive so many amenities also...breakfast, cocktail hour, $15 towards drinks every night, and we also enjoyed the fire pit! Oh, I can't forget the views and location. It's breathtaking, you can hardly take yourself away from it! We did think that some of the common area carpets could be replaced...they were starting to show some age. Overall, it is a perfect place for a peaceful and romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starfish67-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The Balance Rock Inn is nestled down a quiet side street in the heart of Bar Harbor, and along a convenient waterfront walking path. Amenities were nice, and staff was exceptional. Loved the veranda bar (with $15 bar credit nightly), deck with fire pit, and upscale breakfast experience. The Select Comfort beds weren't as comfortable as I'd hoped, and were very noisy to adjust or move around in... but otherwise the place was clean, well-cared for, and nicely appointed. It felt like a very special, indulgent getaway! Oh, and it's extremely pet friendly, even offering to arrange for doggy day care!

Room Tip: The Carriage House is nice, but the main inn looks even nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,775 reviews
0.4 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
2.2 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
1.5 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
449 reviews
0.6 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Rock Inn

Address: 21 Albert Mdws, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 13,121 - ₹ 23,949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balance Rock Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance Rock Inn is one of the premier oceanfront lodging properties in Bar Harbor, ME. Set on a secluded tree-covered property with expansive views of Frenchman's Bay, this luxurious Inn's name celebrates the "balance rock," a precariously positioned boulder on the nearby ocean shore, a huge remnant from an ice age. Balance Rock's 27 rooms and suites are tastefully outfitted in harmonious colors, handsome wall coverings, handcrafted furnishings, and all the creature comforts. All rooms and suites have either a king or queen size select comfort bed, a private bath, flat screen television with DVD player, WIFI internet access, individually controlled AC and heat, and most with amazing ocean views! The Inn features a full bar and restaurant, sundeck with fire pit, and heated swimming pool...all overlooking the ocean. In addition there is a formal dining room for breakfast and dinner, a small fitness center, and ample parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balance Rock Hotel Bar Harbor
Balance Rock Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing