We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,355)
Filter reviews
1,356 results
Traveller rating
403
592
220
81
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
592
220
81
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal beach club prego partial ocean view tumon bay beach front beautiful beach lobby area shopping and restaurants beach access guam properties asia snorkel hawaii outrigger
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 1,356 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

My first bad review. First I must say the staff is absolutely fantastic. Karen at the lobby bar and coffee shop make a killer margarita!!! Now for the bad, there is nothing in the room saying anything about what the hotel has to offer I.e. Where to eat what restaurants do they have nothing! Nothing about scuba diving snorkeling outside pool bar not one word. If it wasn't for Karen I would have never known and while at the lobby bar I saw many visitors asking where to eat!!!! In addition the hotel is older and in need of cosmetics and the air conditioning was inconsistent in my room 1701. I would stay there again now that I know what they have to offer but management needs to be more pro-active

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison C, General Manager at The Westin Resort Guam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

Dear Sam C,

Thank you for your very fair review. We are very pleased that our helpful and friendly associates were able to assist you and offer recommendations on places to eat as well as offer suggestions on things to do during your visit. In fact, there are informational materials in each room that describe our in-house dining options that are available to guests. I am sorry that you were not able to locate these items. This issue has been addressed by our team.

With regard to the inconsistent air-conditioning temperature in your room - we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Please be sure to let us know at the time so that we may resolve the situation immediately. We are committed to providing the best quality and services and would like to thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort Guam during your visit to Guam. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Until then - be well,
Harrison Cho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here as transitional place between moves for 2 weeks. Ate here almost every night with the family and loved it. The taste had amazing themed buffets every night. Something for everyone, even the most pickiest eaters. Right on the beach. Perfect tiny lil pool, maybe too small for resort title though

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
Thank mellymellarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison C, General Manager at The Westin Resort Guam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Hello Mellymellarcher,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort Guam and for your kind review. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the themed-buffet at Taste. Indeed, you said it best - there is something for everyone there (including the pickiest eaters)! We are very proud of our restaurants and hope that you were also able to dine at our Italian Restaurant - Prego - during your stay. In addition, thank you for also pointing out our great location right on the beach.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next visit to Guam.

Until then - be well,
Harrison Cho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

The Starwood hotels are usually the most pet friendly hotel chain I have encountered. However, the pet policy of this Westin states that they only allow one dog per room, not over 40 lbs. Their rationale for only allowing one dog per room is because only one dog bed can fit in a room. They must have extremely small rooms here! While the policy says it is up to the discretion of the manager to allow a dog over 40 lbs., there is apparently zero flexibility about having two dogs per room. This hotel is not friendly to military guests and is inflexible. Thanks to this hotel management, Starwood has lost a loyal customer.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
Thank SheShark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison C, General Manager at The Westin Resort Guam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

Dear SheShark1,
Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort Guam on your recent visit to Guam. We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback. We would like to address your concerns and deeply apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us.
We are sincerely sorry that we were not able to accommodate your request for having two dogs in your room. The Starwood Policy does state that each dog should not exceed 40 pounds, however, because you are a valued guest- this is something we would like to make an exception for. This issue will be addressed by our team and will be resolved immediately.
We would like you to know that we would like to be flexible in order to ensure our guests’ needs are met and that they are satisfied. Please know that The Westin Resort Guam is indeed a big supporter of our military. We hope that you will give us another chance to meet your expectations. Again, I deeply apologize for your unfortunate experience during your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Until then – be well,
Harrison Cho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

This hotel has amazing views of tumon bay. The weekend brunch is fantastic. Its very clean and ive always enjoyed it when I go there. The pool is right on the beach with a cool bar. Beach access is easy and there are tons of restaurants outside the hotel.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Taylor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison C, General Manager at The Westin Resort Guam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

Dear Taylor V,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort Guam on your recent visit to Guam. Thank you as well for your excellent review of our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the amazing view on Tumon Bay. We hope you were able to catch a breath taking sunset during your stay. We are very proud of our restaurants including Prego (Italian cuisine) and Taste (buffet). Thank you for commenting on easy beach access and great location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Until then - be well,
Harrison Cho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Overall experience at the Westin Resort was a 5 out of 5. Here’s why:

Positives (Hotel Staff):

• Greeted with a smile and luggage taken to our rooms as we checked into the hotel
• Hotel lobby staff smiled, greeted us warmly, answered all our questions and offered the opportunity right away to save money by introducing us to the free SPG program (we saved 15% on several hotel restaurants and coffee café in the lobby, and 20% on the breakfast buffet)
• Hotel staff treated us with great care and like family! They even remembered our names and asked us what we had done the day before. We felt truly cared for.
• Concierge was helpful and made reservations for several events we wanted to attend.
• Truly enjoyed the spa treatments we received at the hotel. I highly recommend spending the money to have a massage the very first day (if you are especially trying to relax during your stay.) There was a semi-private elevator that would take you directly to the spa area – we really appreciated that.

Negatives (Hotel Staff):

• Seriously, nothing can be said negatively about the staff…Great, quality people who obviously love their jobs and making you feel at home.

Positives (Room/Hotel):

• Our partial ocean view room was spectacular. We had two queen beds, the sliding glass doors opened wide to the balcony so we could enjoy the sunny weather and gorgeous views.
• I can’t say enough about the bed and pillow choices. So comfortable. I fell asleep right away and slept soundly through the night.
• Very quiet, well insulated rooms. Never heard the people next door to us.
• Nice Smart-TV, as well as a fridge, hot pot, hairdryer, coffee, tea, and bottled water*.
• A big plus for us was the use of a private safe in the closet. Easy instructions on how to use it.
• Lots of closet space.
• The bathroom was so large, well-lit and had a separate shower/bathtub but you could choose to use the bathtub as a shower with a handheld shower head. Great choices!
• Plenty of large, soft towels for the bathroom!
• Robes were provided if you chose to use them, as well as slippers.
• They didn’t skimp on the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. These were always restocked. They also offered razors, shower cap, toothbrush & toothpaste in the room at no extra charge.
• All amenities were above average (we never saw or used the workout room, so cannot give a recommendation for that.)
• Wonderful in-hotel restaurants. Prego Italian Restaurant was fantastic! Breakfast buffet has so much to offer, just about everything you could imagine for breakfast. It was a little pricey but if you eat a big breakfast, you’ll love it.
• Superb Magic Show at the hotel. It is an intimate venue (only holds about 35 people). Magician Nabil is awesome. Not only is he a great magician, he is also a great comedian! He speaks English and Japanese. Don’t be put off by the cost it was WELL worth it. If you have a military ID you can get a discount for the show.
• Gorgeous pools, and at just the right temp. One pool has a pretty waterfall.
• Easy access to snorkeling, scuba-diving, paddle-boats, kayaking (all for a fee). Very friendly and helpful staff there as well. Snorkeling was well worth the money – we saw amazing fish and a sea turtle! (Tip: you don’t need to snorkel to see beautiful fish in the water. Just head out a little bit and they’ll come to you, but you won’t see a sea turtle in the reef.)
• Laundry room available but only one washer/dryer was working when we were there. I believe there is laundry service which we did not use.
• Everything clean and well-maintained.
• We didn’t use parking so cannot make a recommendation.

Negatives (Room/Hotel):

• Not so much drawer space but it was sufficient for two people.
• Tankless toilet was sometimes hard to flush.
• Shower leaked but that can be typical of stand-alone showers.
• Often had to re-sign-in to wireless internet while in the room or in the lobby because it would just stop working.
• Jets in hot tub weren’t very strong.

Tips to save money:

1. A lot of places give a discount if you have a military ID: Pacific Fantasies at Pacific Island Club; Magic Rocks Show at Westin Resort; Westin Resort on-site spa. There may be other places that we didn’t use that offer the discount as well. You just have to ask for it.
2. If the check-in staff doesn’t offer you an SPG card, ask for it – it’s free. You get discounts at some restaurants and it has many other benefits for future traveling.
3. Tipping is expected but make sure to read the menus at each meal (usually on the back/bottom). Some restaurants include the 15% gratuity in the meal cost so you don’t need to add a tip unless you want to tip more than 15%.
4. Purchase a 2-day or 5-day pass for the Tumon Trolley (Bus).
5. Don’t take a taxi unless you have to.
6. If you’re not going to tour the island, don’t rent a car. Many things are in walking distance or by taking the trolley.
7. *Don’t drink the Fuji bottled water in the room ($5 per bottle). They provide other water in the room that is just as good and it’s free.
8. Don’t purchase the in-room internet. Lobby internet is free.
9. Almost everything is expensive so be prepared and don’t be shocked at how much things cost. Just have a great time!

Hafa Adai!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JoeCheonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison C, General Manager at The Westin Resort Guam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Dear JoeCheonan,

I would like to sincerely thank you to you for choosing The Westin Resort Guam as your home away from home. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide such an excellent and detailed review. We take great pride in providing the best quality products and services and are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations.

We are very pleased that you felt the warmth and hospitality and that you were treated with great care throughout your stay - You are truly part of our Westin Family! Thank you for joining our SPG Program. We are happy that you were able to enjoy some of the loyalty benefits offered.

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your room stay, our large bathrooms and shower, amenities, and that you slept well on our signature Heavenly Bed. Perhaps you will be able to enjoy our Westin Workout Fitness Studio on your next visit. We are very proud of our restaurants and are happy that you enjoyed dining at Prego and award winning Taste Restaurant. Indeed, the food is fantastic! In addition, our excellent location, gorgeous pools and easy access to Guam's beautiful beaches (and access to numerous outdoor water activities) are just a few of the reasons that make The Westin Resort Guam the ideal place to stay when travelling to Guam.
Thank you for bringing the issues of limited drawer space as well as your issues with the tankless toilet, shower leak, wifi and hot tub jets - these matters will be brought up to our team and will be addressed accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Resort Guam on your next visit to Guam. We hope to see you again soon.

Until then – Be well.
Harrison Cho – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews