We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!”
other travellers have booked this property
NORTH SHORE BEACH FRONT STUDIO 
Amazing beach studio!
2 guests max
Owen's Retreat
Since 1960
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
NORTH SHORE BEACH FRONT STUDIO 
Amazing beach studio!
2 guests max
Owen's Retreat
Since 1960
OCEAN BEACH FRONT STUDIO COTTAGE DINING AREA WITH BEACH & OCEAN VIEWS
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
NORTH SHORE BEACH FRONT STUDIO 
Amazing beach studio!
2 guests max
Owen's Retreat
Since 1960
OCEAN BEACH FRONT STUDIO COTTAGE
DINING AREA WITH BEACH & OCEAN VIEWS
1 QUEEN BED WITH BEACH & OCEAN VIEWS
OCEAN VIEWS FROM ENTIRE COTTAGE
COMPLETE KITCHEN
FULL BATHROOM
FANTASTIC SWIMMING AND SNORKELING. PRISTINE WHITE SAND MOKULEIA BEACH
Amazing ocean/beach front views! Pristine beach!
Amazing deck with ocean/beach views
Honus rest in front of property
Humpback whales watching from mid December through April
Hawaiian Monk Seal rest on the beach
Swim with a honu
Kite surfing & Surfer's paradise
Kitesurfing & surfing right in front of property
Mokuelia Beach Cottage with amazing beach views
Ka'ena Point State Park & Albatross Sanctuary
Skydiving & Paragliding 2 min drive
Hawaii Polo Club
Mokuleia Polo 3min drive
Waialua Town 10min drive
Schofield Barracks 20 min drive
Haleiwa Town 10min drive
Waimea Valley falls 25min drive
Waimea Bay 20min drive
Polynesian Cultural Center 40min drive
USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor 30min drive
Honolulu International Airport 55min drive
National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific 55 min drive
Beach wedding flower girls
Hawaiian Beach wedding
Hawaiian Beach wedding on the property
Hawaiian beach wedding cake under the stars at Mokuleia
Hawaiian Beach wedding for 100 guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Waialua, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melia J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 24 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in the orange cottage at Owen’s retreat. It was amazing! The views were beyond my expectations. The beach is literally right out your door! We saw sea turtles daily for a majority of the day. The beach was private for the most part, and was a great area to snorkel. The room does not have AC (which we found is very common in Hawaii), but the breeze from the ocean was constant and we used the small fan provided in the cottage at the base of the bed and we never got hot; it stayed very comfortable. There is not much space, but we made it work. Accommodations could be updated a bit, but it was well worth it to be right on the beach!

It was away from the hustle and bustle of the city; very private, calm, and peaceful. It was about a 30 minute drive to the nearest grocery store and about 15 minutes to any restaurants. So if you aren’t willing to drive, this is not for you. It is considered the countryside of O’ahu, or what the locals called “real Hawaii”. We loved the privacy and views, so well worth it! I would definitely recommend staying here. I will be a repeat visitor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed 6 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a quiet place to celebrate our 25th anniversary and this was perfect! Off the beaten path yet conveniently located to the attractions we wanted to see on the North Shore. The view from the cottage was stunning and we enjoyed magnificent sunsets during our stay. We saw several sea turtles in the water just in front of us, so cool! Lots of activity on the water and beach adjacent to us was entertaining and still allowed us plenty of peace, quiet and relaxation which is what we were after. Totally laid back vibe and super sweet caretakers Bernadette & Ruben were a pleasure. Plans to visit again are already in motion!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUSTIN D...
1 review
“Perfect Hawaiian Retreat for 2”
Reviewed 30 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This place was everything my wife and I were looking for. The compound was easy to find. The cottage had everything we needed to cook meals, clean up, or lay back. Staff was friendly and helpful when we needed them and left us to enjoy the atmosphere when we didn't. We essentially had the beach to ourselves which was awesome. The lack of A/C was not a problem, as the cottage cools down tremendously when you open all the windows. We slept every night listening to the ocean which was a great experience. Saw turtles, sea lions, and great sunset/sunrise/stars from the balcony. Tailgating at the polo field down the road was a cool experience, and hiking the Kealia trail by the airport left us with some humbling views. Haleiwa town is a short drive as well and has more activities (surf, paddle board, canoe, etc) for those looking to explore. I highly recommend Haleiwa Beach House and Poke Bowls from Fatboy's for restaurants. The air traffic from the airport was never an issue for us. I'd recommend shoes for the water as there are rocks, but you can find small sections without. Also you will have to get a little creative to store your clothes (we had out suitcases sliding in and out from under the bed). The cottage comes with beach chairs, fresh towels, and it's own area to wash down which is important for any Hawaiian rental.

Long story short - this place is cozy, private, and has a great location for activities. We will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggiebel...
New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Let the world go away....”
Reviewed 27 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

If you're ready to drop the heavy load we all carry in our daily lives, this is the place for you. Yes it's TINY (210 sq. ft), and yes it could use more (any) closet or drawer space. But after a few hours here none of that mattered to us. The constant sound of the waves, completely empty beach (especially Sunday afternoon - Thursday), Hawaiian green sea turtles feeding in the shallow water right outside our bedroom window from 3-6 every day, and stunning array of stars at night made it all worthwhile. There is an airfield right across the street for single prop planes - they took off and landed maybe 3-4 times during the day, but the sound of it only lasted a few seconds. It was not intrusive at all. We went into Wailea to Mamela grocery several times, and once to Giovanni's grilled shrimp truck for meal items, and had wonderful meals on the deck. Reuben and Bernie were very sweet and helpful, and made sure we were comfortable. If you enjoy a big resort scene with lots of activities and people, you won't be happy here. But if, like us, you're needing to drop off the grid, this is the place for you. It was heavenly, and we'll be back. Aloha!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing