We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hale Ikena”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hale Ikena

No better view on Oahu.  Peaceful luxurious perch above the sandbar and Kaneohe Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No better view on Oahu.  Peaceful luxurious perch above the sandbar and Kaneohe Bay.
No better view on Oahu.  Secluded and peaceful perch above the bay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
No better view on Oahu.  Peaceful luxurious perch above the sandbar and Kaneohe Bay.
No better view on Oahu.  Secluded and peaceful perch above the bay.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kaneohe, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WHBSR
Akron, New York
1 review
“Hale Ikena”
Reviewed 31 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

A most enjoyable, relaxing, senic stay.
The owner was very accommodating.
We had a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crashman1...
Keller, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

You can't appreciate the views in the photos until you see it in person. Outstanding! John was great as a host. He has all the snorkeling gear, boogie boards, and even a kayak. Kitchen is totally updated and has everything you would need if you want to cook. We had breakfast everyday in the apt and ordered or ate out every night. Bed was a bit softer than what I'm used to but we survived. There is an AC unit but we only needed it 2 of the 5 nights. Always seems to be a breeze coming through windows and sliding door adjacent to bed. Plenty of ceiling fans as well. Great location being away from the traffic and congestion around Honolulu and Waikiki and being able to get up to the north shore. No easy access to beach but that wasn't an issue for us. Too many other beaches to explore on east and north shore.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy G
Eastern Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location with the perfect views”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this home from John for my family of 5, my husband and I with three of our children. John was very easy to work with as I asked many questions before we booked. When we arrived the home was ready for us and was stocked with plenty of towels, blankets, pillows, paper towels, toilet paper, dishes and everything we could possibly need. All we had to bring was our clothing and food. He even had beach towels and boogie boards for our use. The rafts were inflated and ready for use in the pool. There were enough lounge chairs for all of us. There was even charcoal for the bbq, although we didn't use it.

The bed is very comfortable. There is also a queen sized air mattress available which is easy to inflate. The bedroom is more of a bedroom nook with a sliding wall that can divide it partially from the main living area. There is a large closet in the bathroom which has an ironing board and iron in it. There is a hair dryer, so you don't need to bring yours. You can use your own shampoo or use that which has been left there by previous vacationers.

There is a stove top, a microwave and a toaster oven. There is also a toaster and a blender. The table in the kitchen looks out through the living room and over the bay. The sunrises were wonderful to wake up to each morning. The stairs to the pool are circular but easy to go up and down. My favorite spot in the whole place is the lounge chair next to the pool. I would go down there and read a book while looking out over the bay in the evenings. There is also a nice table on the patio next to the house where you can eat and look over the bay. The fishing boats go out during the day and you can see them anchored out by the reef.

The house is nestled in a quite neighborhood away from the hustle and bustle of the city but in only a couple of minutes you are out on the main road and can head in either direction to get to all corners of the island. Safeway and Foodland are only minutes away from the home, along with Windward Mall. We found the location to be perfect because we went to all corners of the island throughout the week.

The driveway is very steep though so if that scares you then this isn't the place for you but we were in a small rental car and it took the driveway without any problems at all. Beside which that steep driveway is what allows the house to have such beautiful views. I would stay here again whenever we can come back to the warm and welcoming island of Oahu.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmc479
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Very nice place, had all the conveniences one could ask for.
Landlord does not hover - did make his presence known but, hardly noticeable.

Some maintenance is needed but this is not a big deal.

We enjoyed our stay and would do it again!
Steep driveway but ok once I got used to it. It is on a mountainside - ya know!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views.
Liked least: Lacking in minor maintenance.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
721davis
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wake up to the most spectacular view”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
5
people found this review helpful

The place was larger than the pictures depicted. Clean, neat and everything you would need to make a great vacation. The owners were helpful with directions and good tips for places to eat. One of best views I've woken up to. Nice, quite place to stay and just relax.. Enjoyed the private pool and convenience of being close to almost everywhere. Will definitely return. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: matress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing