We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best places I've stayed in all my many...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hale M

Current view of Hale Malaekahana from the water.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Current view of Hale Malaekahana from the water.
Hale Malaekahana Covered lanai seating and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Current view of Hale Malaekahana from the water.
Hale Malaekahana
Covered lanai seating and dining area
Master Bedroom w/ Kingsize Bed
Reading nook and vanity
View from Master bedroom reading nook
Dawn view from reading nook
Queen Bedroom with ocean front window seat
Twin Bedroom
Living room with punee
Full bath
Kitchen with picture window facing the beach
Kitchen and beach view
View from a Drone!
This is a typical Morning walk on the beach at low tide.
Picture from New Years day 2013
The Beach!
Sunrise
House next door used in the movie 'Soul Surfer'
Short walk to the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kahuku, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
CALacapa
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best places I've stayed in all my many travels!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I was searching for a place away from the touristy places of Hawaii and luckily discovered this beautiful place tucked away on the north shore. The house reminded me of the cabins you can find along the lake shores of northern Wisconsin. A great place to spend time with family either swimming, grilling, or relaxing on the beach with a book. The best time of the day was watching the sunrise so beautiful. The rental place has everything you need for a visit to the ocean, the boogie boards are so much fun! We were also pleasantly surprised to see they have a nice walking/jogging path nearby that seems to be widely used by locals and visitors. Next time we plan to bring our running shoes. We cooked breakfast every morning and the only thing they didn't have was a rolling pin. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being close to the ocean
Liked least: the humidity
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hideaway on the North Shore”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

There are a lot of great things to say about this place - but first there also some things that you need to know. If you are looking for a modern, sterile place in the centre of things, then this is not the place for you. As per the description, it is pretty dated (rustic), and it is certainly lived in. It's also pretty far out in terms of the islands population centres and geography, around an hour drive from Honolulu \ Waikiki. A car is essential.
We had a couple of issues with connection to the wireless internet, but in the end worked out that the main bedroom and porch were the places with the best signal strength. First world problems, eh....

Having said that, the house had everything we wanted \ needed and more. We travelled as a group of four to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday, with our eight year old daughter and MIL in her sixties. The house is well equipped with everything you would need to cook and eat (incl charcoal BBQ), a huge range of condiments, spices and foodstuffs left over from previous occupants and plenty of other household stuff that you would normally have to buy.

The location of the house is great, with the beach at the end of the garden and around halfway between Laie and Kahuku. A five minute drive in the direction of Laie will get you to the local shopping centre and a couple of minutes further to the Polynesian Cultural Centre. This is also the direction of the nearest refuse station, which is no more than a couple of minutes away. Five minutes in the direction of Kahuku will get you to a small supermarket (including bottle shop), petrol station and an outdoor market, which inclues a selection of eateries including the well recommended Kahuku Grill.

The beach itself is great with a seemingly constant warm sea temperature. We took a morning to walk \ swim out to Goat Island, which was fun, although be warned that there are bluebottles (Portuguese Man-o-war) around as my daughter found out. This is where the abundance of equipment came in handy as we were able to 'borrow' a bodyboard and lifejacket to tow my daughter across to the island as well as some reef boots to protect our feet. Also, we were advised to go west along the beach a couple of hundred metres for swimming as there are some coral heads exposed directly to the front of the house.

The drive into Honolulu \ Pearl Harbour \ Waikiki is pretty good regardless of whether you come down the middle of Oahu (visiting the Pineapple plantation \ coffee plantation \ Laniakea beach for turtles) or down the east coast (visiting the PCC \ Macadamia plantation \ Kualoa ranch). We drove down to the south on a number of days and they are pretty nice drives.

Given the choice, I'd happily stay here again but it's unlikely as we've now 'done' Oahu. However I would certainly recommend the property as long as you are comfortable with the fairly isolated location, that it is no way modern and that it is a fair way from the tourist attractions

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: It's a home, not plastic \ sterile
Liked least: A little isolated
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Reviewed 27 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Small town in Washington
Reviewed 27 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NJ
Reviewed 23 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing