We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad if you like roosters...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Turtle Bay Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kahuku
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turtle Bay Condos
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Not bad if you like roosters...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed for a 1.5 weeks in a condo on the golf course. Overall this is a beautiful location. The condo was dated and tired. Clean enough but not great. Kitchen left a lot to be desired... knives wouldn't even slice a lime and the blender died. Not good when you want to whip up a blender of pina coladas! We were awakened every morning starting at 3:30 a.m. by the many roosters hanging out by the condo. Talked to the management who said, 'Yeah, they're feral. Nothing we can do." Then talked to a 'higher up' who said, "Yes, we're aware, and they will be rounded up and relocated within 24 hours", which never happened. We did our best to adjust but if you're looking for rest and relaxation... keep looking! Seems like staying at the actual hotel may have been better/quieter... beautiful sunrises and sunsets though!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxtraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    15
    13
    8
    12
See reviews for
39
21
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotts Mills, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

After a few recommendations, we booked to give a try. Walked in and found a nice floor plan. Kitchen was kind of clean but oven door had broken glass. The rest of the place was so filthy, we left after 30 minutes!! Got there and couldn't see as 3 or 4 lights we burned out. Smelled awful! I don't think the place had been opened in months. Went to the bath and almost fell off the toilet as it wasn't even bolted to the floor and when flushed the floor got rather wet. After this we pulled back the sheets to check for cleanliness and critters and there were holes in the sheets, but at least no bedbugs that we noticed. Dirty carpets, really dirty walls and washer and dryer I'd never use due to dirty and grime. This was on a Sunday evening and called security and he gave us an EMERGENCY number. We called 6 times and it was busy. Brought the keys back to security who was friendly and confirmed the number was correct. Left and continued to call for 4 hours ( over 25 times) and it was always busy. If they give you condo # 160 BEWARE!!!!!! I would not even rate this place. We have stayed in condos all over and never have we been so upset, disgusted and disappointed! Any where else would be better. Sleep on the beach if you must!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CrookedFingerHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kahuku hotels

Dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

Arrivced Aug. 8th late in the evening. Started out on wrong foot. Unit had not been cleaned. They sent someone over to help change sheets so we could sleep that night.
Then next day made up for the mistake. Cleaned and everything turned out fine.

My adult son loved looking out on the golf course. The beach is a little further than it looks on the map. Just have to drive down to the Turtle Bay Resort and park in the Beach Access lot.

Would recommend staying there on the North Shore for say 5-7nights and then 2 or 3 max in Waikiki.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alamo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

We stayed at this condo for my sisters wedding. We chose the condos because there were 6 of us and also because it seemed more ideal for us than staying at the turtle bay hotel itself. BIG MISTAKE. As soon as we walked into the place there was a horrible musty smell. The furniture was shabby. hen we went to go to bed that night there were mismatched sheets on the bed. I thought to myself "you've got to be kidding me??" We payed over 150 dollars a night and they can't even put matching sheets on the bed? It made me wonder if they were even clean. The rental office to this place is hard to find too. This place was a real pain and it did not seem like I was on vacation at all. Pay the extra money and stay at the Turtle Bay hotel which is gorgeous and has great service.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ilimav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

I was traveling with eight members of my family that couldn't get along on the best of days and still managed to enjoy myself inexoribly. I was there for my brother's wedding. His in-laws (Hawaiian Natives) recommended the condos in Kahuku where they had stayed many times themselves. Community pools are available. The Aloha stadium is close-by for inexpensive quality shopping every Wednesday. The Waimea falls are very close for a dream like dip in a tropical pool. And you can't miss out on the naturally flavored snow cones from the stand on the Waimea Trail. Not to mention the legendary surfing at North Shore or even down on one of the southern beaches. Turtle Bay is close enough to both.

Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tobynscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,632 reviews
Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging
#1 of 1 in Sunset Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Condos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Condos

Property: Turtle Bay Condos
Address: 56-565 Kamehameha Hwy, Kahuku, Oahu, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kahuku
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,687 - ₹ 8,816
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Condos Hawaii/Kahuku, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing