We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 434
US$ 361
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore(Laie)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$ 252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$ 832
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 804
US$ 677
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club(Kapolei)(Great Value!)
US$ 663
US$ 643
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 252
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 286
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii(Kaneohe)(Great Value!)
US$ 253
US$ 213
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 235
US$ 217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
42
44
30
29
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
44
30
29
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbad reviewsback packerscool vibespent two nightsmain officecleaned dailyamazing locationphone numberbus stophear the wavesfull kitchenbeach frontsupermarketbeachescraigsurfbikes
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2017

we were a group of 11 people and booked the main house of 3 bedrooms with two sets of bunks in each room, dorm style. There were two bathrooms with a shower and toilet in each room. We had the entire house to ourselves as we booked for 12 people, bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen and lounge. The house was located underneath the main reception and was pretty dated. We gave it a good clean out ourselves before we got settled in. Cleaners came each day to mop the floors and clean but we also cleaned it ourselves each day. There was a washing machine and dryer just outside under the eaves. it cost $2 USD for wash and then another $2 for dryer. You have to have 8 quarters 25c to put in each machine. The fridge leaked badly however a new 2nd hand fridge was brought in one day when we were out. It was in very good condition and didnt leak. There was and oven which we did use occassionally but mostly we ate out. The bunks had laundered white sheets when we arrived, the beds were not the most comfortable but sufficient. We stayed over Christmas 2016 and New Year 2017, staff were friendly and we were invited to Christmas day shared meal. We went down to Plantation Village and performed for the people there with our young guys doing a Maori song and a haka. The location and price of the accommodation was great as we had 6 teenage boys whom we had brought to Hawaii for basketball training and experience with teams from Kahuku which was a 20 min drive from the backpackers. The beaches along the coast from the backpackers would be some of the best in Hawaii. Pupukea was great for snorkeling and very safe. Foodland Grocery store with ATM was a 3-5min walk with lots of food trucks next to Foodlands. We loved driving to Haleiwa(12-15min drive) for meals and they had a park with basketball courts that the boys enjoyed playing at. FREE WIFI at the backpackers was great. Definitely not the flashest place but was sufficient for our needs and was certainly a great location. Free parking. No A?Con, but there was a fan in our room which we used at night sometimes. The weather was pleasant while we were there, as it is their winter. Also close to Polynesian Cultural Centre 25 min drive. Great show and family orientated.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hinukoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

It´s hard enough to find ANY accomodation on the North Shore, let alone an affordable one. The place has a nice vibe and attracts budget travellers ( if there is such a thing on Hawaii ) and surfers from all over the world.
We stayed at one of the apartments they offer. It was like sleeping on one of the tables of Three Table Beach ! You could almost feel the house tremble with every huge wave smashing on the beach, the beach is virtually only meters away. Three tables beach is great for snorkeling on quiet days, you only have to deposit 20 $ and you get all the equipment for free from their front desk . Same goes for bikes.
Other reviewers complain about the cleanliness ( or lack thereof ) and stuff - well, to put it mildly - There is definitely room for improvement - BUT the location is just fantastic, we bought a broom at the nearby foodland supermarket and did the cleaning ourselves - no big deal. The Plantation village dorms and rooms are across the road , those are even cheaper than the apartments - however if you want the real thing go for the large apartment..

Room Tip: Large Apartment , Top floor
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mberlin2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

It was our second time staying there and probably our last. To start the person in charge for the reservation messed up my request (the first time too) and instead of booking a private room booked 1 bed in a dorm. Well… we were 2. Partly was my fault because I actually trusted what she was doing and making a reservation 6 months in advance (so the availability to what I wanted wouldn’t be a problem) and through the form on their site has she instructed me, never thought to re-confirm closer to arrival. The guy at the office (can't remember his name) was awesome and tried to help us but unfortunately they had to put us in a cabin which had no doors between dorms (just a curtain) and the kids staying there where very noisy (normal, but not what we asked for). It was a mess and we ended up staying only for 2 nights. The same guy that tried to helps us, gave us our money back but we look for another place and spent even more money. This place has tremendous potential and it breaks my heart that no one seems concerned in making it better. It’s good if you travelling low cost and don’t really care about showering and sleeping in a filthy place, if not… just go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

beautiful location and most of the staff were friendly but the overall conditon of the hostel was not in good shape. one of my frineds got bed bugs and the bathroom had no soap and lights broekn. Very good with bike hire but just too expensive for the level of quality in the hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Celestine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I stayed at the Back House for 4 nights. The staff who I had dealt with were very friendly and helpful and were very accommodating for my late arrival and early departure. The surrounds were great - Three Tables beach is pretty much at your door step and a short walk from Waimea Bay. There is a nearby supermarket and food truck area that have a big selection of food, which was great. The view from the top level of the Back House is great.

However, the accommodation at the Back House itself leaves much do be desired. At night the room I stayed in was very, very poorly lit by two tiny lamps, it was also extremely hot and inadequately 'ventilated' by a fan that barely worked. The bathrooms were so-so, as they were extremely dated and almost in an almost poor condition, but they were clean considering their condition. The main area was cleaned every day by a friendly cleaner, but overall it was pretty dirty (cobwebs in high corners, dirty windows) and seemed to be falling apart.

Given the price ($75 a night), I was expecting a little more from a private room.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews