We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”
Review of Wailuku Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wailuku Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 4 Wailuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chilliwack
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Wasabi Room, during the first two weeks of February, and had a great time.

The accommodation was spacious, clean and very reasonably priced. We especially enjoyed the pool and the warm bread that Maureen provided. The property was easy to find, close to the airport and the main shopping areas of Maui. We really enjoyed the "take out foods" at Whole Foods.

We would highly recommend this accommodation if you want to be in a central place to enjoy all the activities of Maui.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilliwack66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    69
    14
    6
    10
See reviews for
37
107
37
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Plantation room for 4 nights which was quite small but it served our needs. Fresh baked banana bread was waiting for us. Great hosts. Use the BBQ two night and it was lovely sitting by the pool eating dinner. Quite once you make friends with the dogs.

Room Tip: Plantation room small, did not see any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harveyrogalsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My wife and I stayed 5 nights on our very first Maui visit. It was the perfect location to visit Hana, Lahainia coast , Halakaela Volcano ,Iao Valley and the Kihei peninsula. It was so close to the airport and to Kuhuli for shopping of necessities. The property was easy to find, quiet, clean, had a nice pooland was inexpensive. Beach and snorkling was available for our usage as was an outdoor barbque. I highly recommend this place. Wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Didn't need AC- the fan was enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paia, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My parents and relatives stayed in the Garden Ohana for two weeks. They really enjoyed the patio area with the barbecue and especially the pool.
My mom has a light sleep and they slept towards the front of the house where the parking lots are. She told me that she couldn't fall asleep at some nights because people were talking too loud in the neighbor room (the walls are obviously not that thick). She also told me that she sometimes woke up early because other guests were leaving early in the morning and the lights of the cars were shining into the window. My dad didn't care because he sleeps like a bear in hibernation. But I guess some ear plugs would have done my mom a favour.
The ohana was perfect for four people and the owner had no problem when my cousin wanted to spend there two nights too. The rooms and the whole area was clean and there is a lot of stuff that the owners provide for free (coolers, beach and snorkel gear, free wifi, pool tools, travel guides and books).

The guesthouse is conveniently located in the middle of Maui not far away from beaches, hiking and shopping. It is affordable and the owners are very helpful.

When you book a room at the guest house don't forget that you actually live in the heart of Wailuku with everything (pros and cons) that a small town has to offer. If you want it busy and touristic book somewhere else ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andi_HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had a great time there, rooms are ok but a bit old and small, at least the Plantation Room where we stayed. Other than this, its location is great and the swimming pool is good!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lss_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
3.3 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
5.3 km away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
3.0 km away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
18.5 km away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.5 km away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailuku Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailuku Guesthouse

Property: Wailuku Guesthouse
Address: 210 S Market St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-2234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wailuku
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,622 - ₹ 14,340
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wailuku Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wailuku Guesthouse is a clean, affordable accommodation on the beautiful island of Maui. Centrally located with a saltwater pool with waterfalls, barbeque, cable TV and air conditioning,beach chairs, beach towels, snorkel gear, coolers for packing great lunches and chilly drinks and free use of the Maui Revealed Guide Book. The house dates back to the early 1900's as a plantation home. Then it was used as officer's quarter's in 1945. The current owners have done many renovations and the rooms are kept spotlessly clean. It offers free wi-fi and parking for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wailuku Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailuku Guesthouse Maui, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing