We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and ambiance”
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Cochrane
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and ambiance”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We visited Mama's on a friend's ecommendation and we weren't disappointed at all. We knew it was going to be pricey (16$ Mai Tai) but it was one of best evening dinners in all our travels.

The food quality was outstanding, service impeccable and ambiance was magical. We enjoyed our evening right from the complimentary valet parking to the outstanding views off the sea cliffs.

If you have the time, this is well worth checking out.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

10,725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,467
    1,352
    600
    176
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Restaurant on Maui”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We had lunch here on 2 separate occasions and each time it was perfect in every way. The location is wonderful, with views through the palm trees to the nearby beach, and the building itself is thoroughly charming (having been added on to again & again over the years). The waiters & waitresses are very friendly and professional, they know the food on the menu and can advise accordingly. The food ....... just the memories that are flooding back with writing this review are making me hungry ....... everything was delicious but I need to make special mention of a few items. Firstly the "Lobster Guacamole" was so good that we really regretted agreeing to share it on our first visit and each ordered our own on the second visit! Hard to go wrong ordering any fish here as it's cooked perfectly and you'll know it's entire history from reading the menu. For dessert the "Chocolate Pearl" was beautiful to look at and just as good to eat - but take a photo first! If you like cocktails the "Hookipa Sunset" is a great one to have.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YeeHaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenai Peninsula, AK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Scumptious as expected!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The presentation of the food was wonderful! Prices are very high ($19 for a kids meal).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank AKGRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best on Maui”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Don't miss this one. It is a one of a kind and if you want to have it all, this is the place. Very expensive but so so worth it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Mama's Fish House is a family owned restaraunt on the beach at Paia that we visited during our stay on Maui. The food was superb in quality and served with an artistic flair. We were greeted with warmth and enthusiasm and seated at a table with a wonderful view of the ocean shore line. Our waitress took time to answer questions about the menu and provided guidance in making selections based on our needs. We were not hurried and felt as though we were dining in a French Restuaraunt.

Knowing that the Christenson Family owns and manages the restaraunt and lodge added to the warm hospitality of the experience. We highly recommend this restaraunt for special occasions and when visiting the island of Maui. Our recommendation is unconditional.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidB465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing