We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic ... Would Do it Again in a Hearbeat”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage nested in the tropical trees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage nested in the tropical trees
Living room opening on covered deck Flat screen HD TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Cottage nested in the tropical trees
Living room opening on covered deck
Flat screen HD TV
Full Kitchen (no dishwasher)
Kitchen living room. Wide bar.
Ocean view from the cottage
Closet and safe
Queen bed
Private cottage. The living area is upstairs.
Sunset from the deck
Sunset over the West Maui Mountains
Covered deck with Weber gas grill
Breakfast, lunch and diner with a view
Bathtub and shower
New Bosch washer and dryer in unit
Chairs for our guests
Ocean side of the property for our guests to sit and relax.
View from the property towards the beach.
Orange tree for our guests to pick and juice
Our famous rainbows view from the deck.
or view from the ocean side. Rainbow is real!!!
Shade or sun, move the chairs and enjoy.
One of the many sunsets view from the property
View from the property on a wonderful sunset.
Your hosts, Craig and Valerie
Living area is upstairs. Garage for your car
Gated property. Park underneath the cottage, in the shade. Living area is upstairs.
Walk down past the main house and enjoy the lawn chairs
Lawn chairs, picnic table. They are yours to use.
In the shade of the coconut trees
Baldwin beach, just 5 mn drive from the cottage. My favorite beach to walk in the morning.
Baldwin Beach. 2 miles from the cottage. Great for walking, jogging and swimming.
Closest beach: 3 mn walk from the cottage. Tavares Bay.
In front of the property when the surf is up
My son at Jaws, just 20 mn from the cottage.
Marlon in Jaws' tube!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Paia, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John M
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic ... Would Do it Again in a Hearbeat”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was our 2nd stay and we stayed 9 nights.

The 1st time we divided our time between here and another location and were sad when time came to leave.

We love Paia and Maui-by-the-Sea. The cottage is hip, beautiful hardwood floors, big veranda over looking fruit trees with views of ocean behind them. In the morning we check out the ocean at the front of the property, then pick oranges and squeeze fresh orange juice and have breakfast on the veranda. Also picked bananas and papayas. Mangos and avocados weren't ripe yet.

Then it's on to a 2 hour walk and swim on Baldwin Beach, which we liked more and more every day. Beautiful and natural with lots to see. Friendly people.

Afternoon site seeing - Road to Hana, upcountry, and road around West Maui past Kapalua, "Over the Top". Boogie-boarded, surfed, watched the tide pools, meandered in Paia.

Lots of good restaurants: Paia Fish Market, Café des Amis, Provisions to Go, Maka by Mana.

Val and Craig are great hosts.

Recommendation: rent a Jeep Wrangler with removal hard top. Well worth the extra $.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall location and decor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travlingi...
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unique Experience!”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We split up our stay on Maui spending the first half on Napili Bay and the second half in Paia. Each location was extremely different from the other. Paia is a very unique little town. I love how everyone is so friendly, yet come from very different backgrounds. Paia had some of the best restaurants on the island. Maui by the sea cottage was also unique. So much nicer than staying in a hotel. The cottage is very spacious and has everything you could possibly need (beach chairs, umbrella, cooler). Valerie and Craig were so nice. We were there for the "Eddie" competition and since Valerie's son is a professional surfer, she was able to tell us all about it. A great couple with a great piece of paradise which we were lucky to have experienced.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Thank you Debra and John for choosing our cottage. We are glad you enjoyed it. Yes Paia and the North Shore of Maui are very special and unique. Mahalo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26011783
Rockland, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A SLICE OF PARADISE”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Maui by the Sea is owned and operated by Valerie and Craig. Two of the kindest and most helpful hosts you will ever encounter. They are on the property, but afford you every privacy that you desire. The cottage is clean, cozy and absolutely fully equipped with everything any vacationer could need. Full kitchen. Lanai with a BBQ. Wi-Fi. And a hi definition TV ... That you're unlikely to use in such a paradise. The entertaining sea turtles (or Honu) frolic in the big surf right out front of the property and surfers ride the big surf. Paia is a wonderful and quaint town, with great shops and restaurants and the cottage is located within minutes of the town centre. Security on the property is excellent with gated and private access. We can't wait to return! Mahalo to Valerie and Craig! They truly live Aloha.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fully equipped and super comfortable. Close to everything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
Dear Neil and Nora, it was a pleasure meeting you. We loved that you thought of sending us a picture of you two before you arrived. It was very thoughtful. So glad that you enjoyed our "turtle shows" and that you had personal encounters on the beach with them as well. It was sad to see you leave but we hope to see you again soon. Aloha, Craig and Valerie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eila-ww
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So glad to have found this place”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Searching ahead for the right place to stay at a place so unknown and very far away is quite an adventure!
The findings turned out to be lucky ones: Valerie and Craig Richter who own the Maui by the Sea Cottage were just wonderful and very very helpful hosts. The cottage is absolutely charming, well and intelligently equipped, impeccably clean, very close to the Sea, and at good walking distance to the center of Paia (the place we liked best in Maui). All rooms are tastefully furnished: the living room/kitchen, the bedroom, bathroom and the terrace. There is a parking place and everything secured behind a fence. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole ensemble
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F
Ashland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Comfortable home away from home.”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Not too much to add to reviews already listed but will add my two cents. :-) Property is exactly as advertised, no surprises when we arrived. It is super clean, which was really nice and very well stocked. Laundry, coffee maker, tea kettle, even juicer! All the perks you could need. Decor is fine, nothing fancy, but just as you see in the pictures.

Property is secure with gated fence and we didn't worry leaving the doors unlocked when we went out. Deck is spacious and lovely and surrounded by a beautiful garden and fruit trees, which the hosts graciously allow you to pick from.

We found the area to be the perfect launching pad for touring around the island, and Paia is such a lovely town.

Hosts are beyond lovely, and while we didn't spend that much time chatting with them, I could tell they would be more than happy to assist with any issues/information you would require. We had a storm one night and Valerie even offered to come clean our windows - very sweet! There were also boogie boards and snorkel gear to use which was a nice bonus.

A few cons were that the a/c units (in the windows) were very noisy so there was no way I could sleep with them on and even noisier was the road behind us. It is literally beside the Hana highway. Most reviewers comment that it's not a big deal, and of course all of us have different sensitivities but for us, it was just too loud. The windows are not sound proof at all so there wasn't any way of really shutting it out.

So...if you aren't noise sensitive I'd say for for it for sure! But if you need the a/c on and are a light sleeper it might not be your best bet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location in Paia
Liked least: Noise from highway
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure hosting you. But I am so sorry you didn’t sleep well.

We always welcome feed back regarding the road noise for us to improve the cottage and for people researching their perfect vacation rental. Our property is in one of the prime ocean front areas and close to the cool little town of Paia, however our property, as are all of our neighbors’ properties, are adjacent to a 2 lane highway. Hana Hwy being along the ocean it is hard to find a prime ocean front property on the North Shore that will not be affected either by the road or the airport.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing