We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutiquey Style with excellent staff and central location”
Review of Paia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Ok, so Paia isn't big, but this place is in the middle of town and it's well positioned as a base for exploring.

We used it as a late night arrival place, not turning up until 11.30pm. We had a call from the desk at 10pm just as we landed, advising us that Although the desk was closing, someone would be there to greet us and indeed they were. We had room #1, which was great for late night arrival as only has a window in the bathroom, but worth noting if you are staying for longer and like natural light in the bedroom itself.

Room was well equipped with nice touches such as iPod docking station, good complimentary toiletries and, if you wanted it, apple TV.

The overall vibe of the place is 'smart traditional' or in the words of my wife, 'hippy chic'. Paia itself has some lovely old, western styled fronted buildings (pianolo in Hawaiin terminology) and the Paia Inn seems very much in keeping, yet adding a cool surf/beach feel too. Very relaxing.

Best bit about the place though? The snakey walk down to the beach. In 2 mins flat you are on a golden sandy beach, grab a deck chair on offer on the way past and you can have a swim before breakfast.

Cannot vouch for the food as we opted to have a stroll around the small town and found breakfast n our travels but it's served is small shady courtyard just off to the side. Looked pleasant enough, although menu seemed limited and cranky more expensive than we paid down the road.

Staff were extremely friendly and courteous.

What you might not like... Can't think of much really bar the lack of window in our room. I wouldn't want to spend more than a couple or nights here as there's not a lot to do in Paia itself, and there are better beaches elsewhere. But, this said, it's close to the airport so great for a first stop place and Paia is worth seeing as part of a Maui road trip I'd say.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank fatmansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 337 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

It's the best place to stay in the best town to stay. The property and the staff are winnners.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband and I had a mazing stay in #9. We stayed for 4 nights at the Hyatt and enjoyed it there, but we loved the 4 nights at Paia inn so much better! It was clean, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The complimentary tea and coffee was a nice touch. The kitchen has everything you would need to cook a nice meal (except for the food of course)! The public areas were great, it was so nice to have the beach chairs, beach toys and towels. The beach was amazing and we spent many hours beach bumming it there, it was empty most of the time except for other guests of the Inn. The town of Paia was laid back and has amazing restaurants & shopping. Flatbread pizza right next door is a not to miss place for a meal. Paia town is a great central location for your stay on Maui and the Paia Inn is a great choice! We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Room 9 was nice but running kids upstairs were noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My wife and I traveled to Maui on for our anniversary and chose the Paia Inn because of its proximity to the airport since our flight was arriving around 8:30pm. Erin met us at the Inn, and she could not have been friendlier. The place was absolutely fantastic! We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite (#8), and it was perfect. There was a little personalized note welcoming us and the building had a partial outdoor shower. Everything was well-decorated and modern with a distinct feel of Hawaii, as well as being immaculately clean.

We were only planning on staying the first night before heading to Hana the next day. We used the morning opportunity to walk the grounds and loved the numerous trees, flowers, and decorations. There were beach supplies readily available for our use, and the beach was right in front of the Inn. We ended up cutting our trip to Hana short by two nights and returning to the Inn. Unfortunately, our previous room was not available, so we ended up staying in a Standard Room. I've read some of the complaints about the rooms being small, but they were intimate in our opinion. We placed our bags under the bed and really appreciated the quality of our surroundings.

My wife had mentioned loving the Plumeria that naturally sprinkled the grounds to Erin, and our welcome back note had several of these flowers with it and the mention of my wife's enjoyment of the flowers. It was a terrific and personalized touch that felt genuine and appreciated.

Paia is a great little town to see all types of people, and the Paia Inn is a great place to stay that we will definitely recommend to traveling friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlyOneTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here on our honeymoon, in search of a great 'home base' to see the island, but also wanted amenities so that we could have some r & r days.

Paia Inn fits this perfectly. We did the touristy thing; and when we were done, we got to stay in the coolest place on the island.

The rooms are unique, comfortable, up to date and clean. The staff is the best. I truly am impressed as to how genuine, helpful, kind and service focused they are. They make you feel like you're staying with friends who want to ensure you have the time of your life.

So yeah; if you're reading this...have no doubt that this is the place to be. You'll maybe pine for a big resort for a second; but quickly realize that the real Maui is not found at those resorts; it's at the Paia Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrrnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
30.9 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
27.5 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
22.4 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
27.2 km away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,077 reviews
26.2 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paia Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn

Address: 93 Hana Hwy, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Price Range: ₹ 13,806 - ₹ 1,41,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique inn seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Paia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing