We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
78
5
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
5
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews winding country upcountry maui haleakala rental lahaina
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2006

My wife wanted to go to Bali for our honeymoon, but since we we're able to arrange such a far trip, the Bali Bungalow at the Aloha Cottage was the ultimate mix of Bali and Hawaii in one secluded, romantic, peaceful, and sacred setting. From the Octagonal architecture, to the outdoor bath, to the skylight to watch the stars from bed, to the rich Balinese wood carvings, artwork, and furniture, - this place was a dream come true, in a truly secluded and private setting. If you can manage to leave this dream cottage, health food stores, beaches, and the best restaurants are all nearby. This cottage was built for lovers, as the showers are double, the bath is double, every light switch, including the bathroom has a dimmer, - everything to the finest detail is so well thought out to create your own romantic world. It was like staying in a work of art. We couldn't ask for anything more.
Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jet8088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2005

My husband and I were treated to a slice of heaven when we stayed at the Bali Bungalow on our honeymoon. We only stayed 4 nights out of the 21 days we were on Maui, but those four nights were magical. The property is amazing and the view from our lanai was breathtaking. We loved the seclusion and the peace and quiet that this property afforded us. Everything is so lush and green and every detail of the cottage was very well thought out. The skylight above the very comfortable bed, allowed us to watch the stars at night. Watching the sunsets from the soaking tub on the lanai was so SEXY. This truly was blissful heaven. We felt so relaxed and this 4 night stay really set the pace for the rest of our trip. We were given complete privacy and felt as if this was our own hideaway. What a spectacular gift to our selves this was. Of the 21 days on Maui, the 4 nights upcountry at the Bali Bungalow will always remain my favorite memory of our honeymoon

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alohawahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2005

The Aloha Cottage may be secluded, but it's one of the most beautiful places you could stay on Maui. We stayed in the Bali Bungalow for the first week of our honeymoon and could not have picked a better spot. The Bungalow is surrounded by lush greenery, horses nearby, and many eucalyptus trees, which makes the whole area smell wonderful. While it is a drive to get anywhere aside from Pai'a and Makawao, the car trips are well worth the peace and serenity you will experience during your stay here. From the doubleheaded shower, to the skylight, the marble countertops and the wonderful soaking tub on the deck, this place was spectacular. It really gave us a chance to see Maui as few tourists do. Plus, we've never see so many rainbows!! The photos on their website (www.alohacottage.com) are quite accurate. The owners really go out of their way to orient you to the area and help you with anything you need, but also leave you alone to enjoy your privacy. We highly recommend staying here. We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lindsayvmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2005

My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Thai Tree House. We felt like it was our home away from home. It was very clean, comfortable, and the setting was gorgeous and private. The grounds were very well maintained and a beautiful location for our wedding. We would highly recommend this cottage for anyone looking for a peaceful, restful and serene vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AmyN144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2005

We just had a nice long vacation in Maui. When you go through the gate to the Aloha cottages, it's like you are entering a very special secret place. The Thai Treehouse is a refreshing change from crowded resorts and prepackaged "fun". It's quiet and peaceful and the very essence of tropical paradise. It's magical to sit out on the deck and look at the stars or take a candlelit bath for two. The owners were very kind to give us our privacy and make sure we were well taken care of.

Note that you are essentially renting a house here, and it is quite a twisted drive down the mountain to get to town should you need anything, so stock up on groceries. I say this because, when you are on a romantic vacation, perhaps you might enjoy things like room service or maids. We were in the car so much, sometimes I felt like we were on a road trip. You really sacrifice convenience for seclusion here (good, if that's your ideal).

Makawao has a nice little health food store and a few shops and thats about it. Try not to eat there if you can avoid it. The two places to eat are Casanovas and Polli's and they are both horrible and ridiculously overpriced. Paia is not that far, and there are great places to eat there.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MissChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews