We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the most beautifully unique places I've ever stayed at!”
Review of Aloha Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makawao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloha Cottage
Reviewed 22 June 2016

The Aloha cottage is one of the most beautiful accommodations that I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. Firstly, the bed was like what I'd imagine beds in heaven would be like. Comfortable is an understatement. The yurt-like space was stylishly decorated, immaculate and included everything we needed for a wonderfully relaxing stay. The patio hot tub is soo blissful. I could not recommend this place more enthusiastically. I suggest staying here a couple nights to anyone visiting Maui.

Room Tip: Get the Aloha cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Aloha Cottage (not the Thai Tree House which is adjacent) from May 30, 2016 till June 6, 2016. This well-maintained, unique octagonal design cottage, boasting a comfortable California King size bed, two person shower, and two person soaking tub on its covered deck, is secluded among dense tropical foliage, the perfect hideaway for a romantic retreat. We couldn't think of any amenities not provided, from the fully equipped kitchen and laundry to the color coordinated sets of linens and towels. We enjoyed watching the soft rain every day, sometimes a mere misting, from the comfortable lounge chairs or the cozy bench and lunch table on the Lanai. Evenings we spent in the soaking tub or watching movies on the large flat screen TV. Note that the many steps leading up to the cottage from the private parking area makes this inaccessible for wheelchairs. The owners ask that while absent from the cottage you run the dehumidifier, which we did every day and every night, emptying two to three loads of water a day. Since there is no A/C nor ceiling fans, we kept the windows open at all times to keep the temperature down and it always cooled nicely at night. While the owners describe the cottage as having "sweeping views from its large covered patio", we should clarify that these views are restricted to the foliage directly surrounding the cottage, which my wife, beautiful though it was, felt was a bit claustrophobic. Personally we would fully recommend this cottage for a (long) romantic weekend getaway, but probably not a longer vacation stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank DrTea4Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Nicely furnished, quiet, great bed and hot tub. Nothing not to like. Kitchen had all we needed and more. Big TV & cable and internet all worked fine. The outdoor hot tub was great. Temp was what we were looking for,

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Frequenttravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

I dream about this place still and can't wait to go back. The grounds are amazing! The attention to detail in this cottage is unmatched. The kitchen is well equipped. The tub on the lanai was pleasant. I've never had a better nights sleep in my life. Do yourself a favor and stay here if you're going to Maui and want to get the locals experience.

Room Tip: The laundry room is around the side of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gidget K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My wife and I stayed in the Thai Tree House for five nights starting in mid-January. After a full day of travel (12 1/2 hours flight time) we arrived at the Tree House, where the lights and stereo were on to welcome us. Very lovely property, very clean, with all the amenities we were looking for in a cottage, including a washer and dryer. We used the property as a base from which to tour the island, and it provided a nice, serene break from our various tours and drives. Also, as it is away from the coast, the cottage area was usually about 10 degrees cooler than down by the ocean, and provided a nice respite from the heat. Very quiet and tranquil....in five days we only heard people on the property once, and that was when the landscapers were present (although they did not approach our cottage until after we left for the day). Did get to meet the owner's dog, who would greet us in the morning as we went to our car, wagging his tail and crying until we patted him! Wonderful to go to bed at night and be able to look out at the stars. We loved it, and would recommend it to anyone who is not looking for the crowded resort experience, but wants some quality time with their significant other.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TJN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
22.5 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
18.4 km away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
32.2 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.1 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
523 reviews
9.6 km away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
572 reviews
7.2 km away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Cottage

Address: 1875 Olinda Rd, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7126
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Makawao
Price Range: ₹ 12,789 - ₹ 19,216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two distinctly different cottage rentals; The Thai Tree House and The Aloha Cottage. Both of these romantic maui vacation cottages, along with the main house, are situated on five pristine acres of a pastoral private upcountry, Maui estate. We strive to provide each of our guests with the finest vacation experience within Upcountry Maui and beyond. The Aloha Cottage is adorned with unique Balinese treasures and The Thai Tree House is uniquely decorated with marvelous items from Thailand. Each cottage was custom-built and designed around these two exotic themes while also maintaining an authentic Hawaiian feel to their settings. There's really nothing else like it on Maui. Privacy abounds with each cottage! The design and placement of these two cottages on the property were carefully planned so that would be ample distance away from each other and also that both cottages remain a good distance away from the main house. In fact each cottage is well over 120 yards away from any dwelling in an effort to provide you with an air of seclusion and independence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Cottage Hotel Makawao
Aloha Cottage Maui/Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing