We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
78
5
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
5
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinding countryupcountrymauihaleakalarentallahaina
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Aloha Cottage (not the Thai Tree House which is adjacent) from May 30, 2016 till June 6, 2016. This well-maintained, unique octagonal design cottage, boasting a comfortable California King size bed, two person shower, and two person soaking tub on its covered deck, is secluded among dense tropical foliage, the perfect hideaway for a romantic retreat. We couldn't think of any amenities not provided, from the fully equipped kitchen and laundry to the color coordinated sets of linens and towels. We enjoyed watching the soft rain every day, sometimes a mere misting, from the comfortable lounge chairs or the cozy bench and lunch table on the Lanai. Evenings we spent in the soaking tub or watching movies on the large flat screen TV. Note that the many steps leading up to the cottage from the private parking area makes this inaccessible for wheelchairs. The owners ask that while absent from the cottage you run the dehumidifier, which we did every day and every night, emptying two to three loads of water a day. Since there is no A/C nor ceiling fans, we kept the windows open at all times to keep the temperature down and it always cooled nicely at night. While the owners describe the cottage as having "sweeping views from its large covered patio", we should clarify that these views are restricted to the foliage directly surrounding the cottage, which my wife, beautiful though it was, felt was a bit claustrophobic. Personally we would fully recommend this cottage for a (long) romantic weekend getaway, but probably not a longer vacation stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank DrTea4Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Nicely furnished, quiet, great bed and hot tub. Nothing not to like. Kitchen had all we needed and more. Big TV & cable and internet all worked fine. The outdoor hot tub was great. Temp was what we were looking for,

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Frequenttravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

I dream about this place still and can't wait to go back. The grounds are amazing! The attention to detail in this cottage is unmatched. The kitchen is well equipped. The tub on the lanai was pleasant. I've never had a better nights sleep in my life. Do yourself a favor and stay here if you're going to Maui and want to get the locals experience.

Room Tip: The laundry room is around the side of the house.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gidget K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My wife and I stayed in the Thai Tree House for five nights starting in mid-January. After a full day of travel (12 1/2 hours flight time) we arrived at the Tree House, where the lights and stereo were on to welcome us. Very lovely property, very clean, with all the amenities we were looking for in a cottage, including a washer and dryer. We used the property as a base from which to tour the island, and it provided a nice, serene break from our various tours and drives. Also, as it is away from the coast, the cottage area was usually about 10 degrees cooler than down by the ocean, and provided a nice respite from the heat. Very quiet and tranquil....in five days we only heard people on the property once, and that was when the landscapers were present (although they did not approach our cottage until after we left for the day). Did get to meet the owner's dog, who would greet us in the morning as we went to our car, wagging his tail and crying until we patted him! Wonderful to go to bed at night and be able to look out at the stars. We loved it, and would recommend it to anyone who is not looking for the crowded resort experience, but wants some quality time with their significant other.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TJN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

We stayed in the Thai Tree House for 3 days whilst exploring this part of the island. Nice central location to see Haleakala, drive the Road to Hana, visit the upcountry and still a not to long drive away from the beaches, but is there ever anything far from a beach in Hawaii? Beautiful setting, clean room, comfy bed with a nice view, well appointed kitchen, big bathtub outside on your balcony, there's even a grill. There's a washer and dryer on the lower level so you dont have to bring in your sandy beach clothes. This place was perfect for a honeymoon. No complaints here, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jordy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews