We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic spot in Maui!”
Review of Aloha Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makawao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloha Cottage
Reviewed 12 February 2016

I dream about this place still and can't wait to go back. The grounds are amazing! The attention to detail in this cottage is unmatched. The kitchen is well equipped. The tub on the lanai was pleasant. I've never had a better nights sleep in my life. Do yourself a favor and stay here if you're going to Maui and want to get the locals experience.

Room Tip: The laundry room is around the side of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gidget K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2016

My wife and I stayed in the Thai Tree House for five nights starting in mid-January. After a full day of travel (12 1/2 hours flight time) we arrived at the Tree House, where the lights and stereo were on to welcome us. Very lovely property, very clean, with all the amenities we were looking for in a cottage, including a washer and dryer. We used the property as a base from which to tour the island, and it provided a nice, serene break from our various tours and drives. Also, as it is away from the coast, the cottage area was usually about 10 degrees cooler than down by the ocean, and provided a nice respite from the heat. Very quiet and tranquil....in five days we only heard people on the property once, and that was when the landscapers were present (although they did not approach our cottage until after we left for the day). Did get to meet the owner's dog, who would greet us in the morning as we went to our car, wagging his tail and crying until we patted him! Wonderful to go to bed at night and be able to look out at the stars. We loved it, and would recommend it to anyone who is not looking for the crowded resort experience, but wants some quality time with their significant other.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TJN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

We stayed in the Thai Tree House for 3 days whilst exploring this part of the island. Nice central location to see Haleakala, drive the Road to Hana, visit the upcountry and still a not to long drive away from the beaches, but is there ever anything far from a beach in Hawaii? Beautiful setting, clean room, comfy bed with a nice view, well appointed kitchen, big bathtub outside on your balcony, there's even a grill. There's a washer and dryer on the lower level so you dont have to bring in your sandy beach clothes. This place was perfect for a honeymoon. No complaints here, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jordy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Living in Portland, Oregon where the winters are long and grey, I have been coming to Maui and staying Aloha Cottage every winter for about 5 years now. Maui sun serves as a savior to the Portland weather and Aloha cottage makes it the perfect vacation. My boyfriend and I book months in advance and come as often as we can. It is an oasis in the middle of a tropical paradise. The cottage itself is amazing and the view and location is breathtaking. Being someone who loves to cook even while on vacation, I appreciated the kitchen. It is highly secluded and private which leads to my favorite aspect of all: the outside bathtub. Having everything we need included makes this vacation a worry-free zone. I would highly recommend this to anyone interested!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Secluded with full amenities. A gorgeous octagon studio cottage that is perfect for any romantic couple ! Price is very reasonable....VERY COZY !! Highly recommended ! Beautiful view, nice steady breeze made sleeping very SPA like. The whole atmosphere was spa like.

Room Tip: Select the Aloha Cottage !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ Smith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
22.5 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
32.2 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
21 km away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
572 reviews
43.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
7.2 km away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Cottage

Address: 1875 Olinda Rd, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7126
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Makawao
Price Range: ₹ 12,889 - ₹ 19,365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two distinctly different cottage rentals; The Thai Tree House and The Aloha Cottage. Both of these romantic maui vacation cottages, along with the main house, are situated on five pristine acres of a pastoral private upcountry, Maui estate. We strive to provide each of our guests with the finest vacation experience within Upcountry Maui and beyond. The Aloha Cottage is adorned with unique Balinese treasures and The Thai Tree House is uniquely decorated with marvelous items from Thailand. Each cottage was custom-built and designed around these two exotic themes while also maintaining an authentic Hawaiian feel to their settings. There's really nothing else like it on Maui. Privacy abounds with each cottage! The design and placement of these two cottages on the property were carefully planned so that would be ample distance away from each other and also that both cottages remain a good distance away from the main house. In fact each cottage is well over 120 yards away from any dwelling in an effort to provide you with an air of seclusion and independence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Cottage Hotel Makawao
Aloha Cottage Maui/Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing